I’m not the master of my own destiny or domain

At the top of the Dashboard page for WordPress, there is an advertisement for making my blog name my “own domain” for a mere $17 per year. What a deal. I can BUY my own blog name on the innernet and only pay $17 per year. Do I make the check out to “innernet”? How about “My computer blog”? I think I’m just a bit tired of the “own this right now” mentality. When I die and stop paying my $17 per year, does my “own domain” go into the public trust like copyrights? Am I spending too much time thinking about this?  I’m  thinking that might be the case.

How ya been?  I’m doing okey-dokey fine.  It’s Tuesday and, once again I am faced with a 10 on Tuesday that I can’t honestly answer.  It’s “Name 10 things you make with pumpkin”.  Drat.  I make nothing with pumpkin.  I roasted a cooking pumpkin 3 years ago and froze it.  I finally threw it away this past spring.  I love a slice of pumpkin pie with whipped cream.  After that, you can have the rest of the pie.  I’m still waiting for S.R.’s recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.  They were fabulous, but since I have never made them myself, I couldn’t even answer with one thing.  I apologize and at the rate I’m going, I’m gonna have to resign from the 10 on Tuesday club due to “a severe lack of connectivity”.

So, thanks for asking, but Grover and Stinky are well.  Our weather has turned to the “getting chilly” number on the dial, so Stinky is “sleeping” with me at night.  I use the term “sleeping” loosely.  She jumps on the bed and attacks my legs.  Then, she turns around in circles and then lays down and proceeds to clean her butt.  After about 15 minutes, she settles down and rests for an hour.  Then, she jumps off the bed and goes to get a drink, or use the facilities, or whatever the heck it is that cats do at night, then she returns and we repeat and rinse.  I feel sorry for her because she’s cold, but I’m getting reallyreallyreally tired.  Also, I bought her a special bed (recommended by our Cookie) that she rarely uses because it’s effective.  Why would the princess, Stinky, stoop to using something that would keep her warm?  That lone kernel of brain must get very very lonely.

I know this is a knitting blog, but I haven’t had time to get pictures of the 3″ of knitting that I’ve accomplished this week.  I will soon, I promise.  And on that note, I will send you to my soundtrack of the day.  This is for my sister-in-law.  I will admit that I am a fan of some country music.  Alot of it is over-produced and too slick for my tastes, but I have to admit that the lyrics in some of the current country music ring of good wordsmithing.  That is something I admire.  One of those who has the talent is Taylor Swift.  Her “Back in December” is a personal favorite, but today’s soundtrack is her immensely popular anit-bullying song “Mean”.  Say what you will, but it feels nice to me that a star is actually addressing a huge problem, musically.

Have a great one!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m not the master of my own destiny or domain

  1. Cookie says:

    Hello!

    Do you think the kitty would like another one of those beds? Then you could make her a really warm tent. ;^) This is assuming I can find the one I have/had/something.

    I’m with you on the pumpkin. I make vague threats of killing it before wandering off and returning in time to pitch it out.

    xoxox

  2. Rachel says:

    For the last 2 days my kitty has been shivering on the human bed instead of relocating herself to the floor to the fleece-lined fur cat bed or the flannel cat pillow. Really cat? Because if I could fit in the fur bed I’d sleep in it all the time.

  3. Emiko says:

    My seasonal lap cat is back, but the whole routine that Ms. EM does on the bed, my Frank will do on my lap while I’m trying to check things out on the laptop or knitting. Then it repeats in the bed (and ya, I know alll about the leg attacking thing). I’m holding out on turning on the heat until it gets unbearable 🙂

  4. Joy says:

    The cats have actually been in the cat beds (!) on the futon most of the time lately – Toby tends to migrate to the dog bed in whichever room I’m currently in, which is nothing new. You must be special – WP wants $24 for mine 😉

  5. Beth in STL says:

    The night-time ritual sounds very familiar. The cats aren’t allowed in the bedroom due to allergies, but we relented when our beloved old-man kitty hit the 15-year mark. He’d yowl at the door to be let in, walk up the boxes stacked by the side of the bed for his convenience, and crawl over my husband to sleep between us under the covers. Then two or three times a night, he’d want out to take care of his old-man bladder or get a bite to eat. Lather, rinse, repeat. I didn’t sleep a full night through for five years. We still miss him.

    The two cats currently have a sofa and two real-person pillows (cat beds looked a little too much like litterboxes to one former cat), but the boy likes to sleep in the back of our corner kitchen cabinet.

    I love that Taylor Swift video. Have you seen her “White Horse” video? Very talented young lady.

  6. margene says:

    You can keep the cats and Taylor Swift, too. However, that doesn’t mean I don’t love you or listening to you go on and on. I love your inner pissy fairy.

  7. Kristi says:

    No need to complicate things with a domain. They are just being pushy 🙂 My sisters cats have often found anything but a cat bed to be a cat bed so I don’t think you’re alone there. I do find it nice the amount of attention bullying has been getting from entertainers of all types.

  8. marianne says:

    Little Miss StinkyTigerButt and her nightly routine, how funny (and not at the same time). It hasn’t gotten quite so cold that Mowzer can come in but he does have his condo/ sunroom. and plenty of beds and pillows everywhere, and also on the back patio. Besides, he spends his nights prowling around, in his jaguar suit.
    Good for Ms.Swift but I wonder.. just who do the bullies listen to? who do they admire? those are the folks who need to be stepping up (although I honestly don’t know who they’d be).
    XOXOXOX

  9. crafterscupboard says:

    I saw the “own your own domain” add when I logged in for the first time in ages the other day and thought…WOW…really? Why would I pay for something I’m so rarely working at and that everyone probably has forgotten about. HE HEHE. Totally lost on me. :)As for the kitty thing….hmmm. Salem has a form of kitty Alzheimers which is what keeps him alive some times as really we’d all love to bluntly show him our displeasure. However…he seems to have figured out that until the alarm goes off he’s not to touch our faces with his claws or whiskers or nose. Also…until the alarm goes off he is to sleep at our feet or curled up next to me. Laying between Mom and Dad and extending claws into Dad’s back will result in banishment from the bed and Mom half asleep can not be depended upon to defend cat. Sorry. Unfortunatley he doesn’t understan the “sleep” function of the alarm clock and once it goes off he feels it’s his duty to get us out of bed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

