And, a Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

My nieces, Peanut and Lil Bit flew into town this past weekend.  Since they were both here and both not able to come the end of November, my BSIL and I had the brilliant idea to have Thanksgiving this weekend, so we did.  It was lovely.  There was some high drama, but that is to be expected.  I have always believed that when you have one daughter you have 80% drama, but when you have two daughters you have 700% drama.  I think it’s a law of nature.  I, of course, was never that dramatic (coughcoughcough).  Anyway, it all worked out and we had a lovely lovely time.  My BSIL cooked an awesome, but very tiny turkey (her grocer told her that they save ALL the big turkeys for Thanksgiving, sheesh), we had stuffing, cranberries, roasted veggies, gravy and a wonderful spinach salad.  I brought a H*ney-B*ked Ham to fill out the lack of turkey breast(I’m still a bit stunned by that).  It was so nice and yummy and we finished it off with my BSIL’s killer pecan pie.  It was great to be with my family and my nieces, who rock my world and always have.  I got some leftovers for a turkey sandwich and I took the rest of the roasted veggies because I adore those.  Then, I tried to come home.  I got in my car and waved and honked and drove off into the night.  About 3 blocks from BSIL/BB’s house, my headlights went out.  I stopped and turned them on manually and they wouldn’t come on.  So, I turned around and went back to the house, knocked on the door and asked my big brother to take me home.  He opened the garage door and got his keys and told me to drive his car home.  It’s a manual transmission.  A German car.  The dash looks like an airplane cockpit.  I can drive a stick.  No biggy.  I like driving a stick, but.   It was dark.  I had never driven THIS car.   I was a bit intimidated.   But, like the total dork I am, I thought, I can do this.  It’s no big deal.  I got in and drove away (apparently without alerting my BB that I am a total dork).  I got about 5 miles from their house and realized the windows were steaming up because I was veryveryvery nervous.  So, I thought I’d just roll down the window.  Pushing the button, I moved the side view mirror a bit out of line.  Then, I pushed and pulled until I found the right darned button for the window.  It was 40 out, so because the heat control was somewhere on the cockpit/dashboard, I just froze all the way home.  I like to think that it kept me alert.  The next morning, I got up and took the big boy for a lovely walk in the cold crisp air (sunshine, too!!!).  Then, I drove out to my BSIL/BB’s house to deliver the car and pick up “Frank”, my Buick.  His name is “Frank” because when I bought him it said so on the windshield.  Printed right in the lower left corner of the windshield was the name FRANK.  So, I figured if they loved him enough to name him, then I would keep the name.  Besides, it’s hard to teach a car a new name.

I will have to get the relay or whatever on the lights fixed, but at least I can drive him in daylight.  Anyhoo, while I was out at the house, I was invited to have lunch with the family at the winery.  There are numerous wineries in the St. Charles south area.  Missouri grows good grapes, too.  I wasn’t going to go, but decided that I really could take the time and love being with my family.   I went.  It was great.  I left their house around 3 or so and went grocery shopping and to get pup/kitty stuff, then headed home.  Such a busy, but lovely time.

I also thought I had some pictures, but I don’t.  I’m not sure if I just thought I had taken them, or if I had already put them on the ‘puter.  Sometimes, I cannot keep the dorkness away no matter how hard I try.  I think the Pissyfairy knows this, but she wasn’t gonna have her way with MY weekend.  Nope.    So, since I don’t have those pictures I thought I had, I will leave you with my soundtrack for this day.  Mr. Stevie Wonder and “Fingertips” from 1964.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And, a Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

  1. Joy says:

    Sounds like quite a weekend – lovely to get together with family with the added bonus of yummy food!

    No problem with the manual, but I know what you mean about a strange cockpit – I have those issues when forced to drive H’s truck. Hope Frank recovers quickly (and cheaply)!

  2. margene says:

    Stick shifts are easy, it’s all the fancy equipment on the dash, steering wheel, console, and armrests that confuse a poor driver. Time with your family sounds lovely, exhausting, but lovely.

  3. Emiko says:

    Sounds like you had a great time!

  4. marianne says:

    Mmmmm, nom nom nom. What a fabulous weekend you had!
    yikes, re: Frank. I hope it’s a relatively inexpensive fix. and holy crap on all the bells and whistles they put in cars these days. I would’ve done the same thing.
    Had no idea stores might would keep back the big turkeys for the holidays. pfft.
    XOXOXOXOXOXOX

  5. Cookie says:

    I love you! At least, you can drive a stick.

    I hope Frank feels better soon.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

