Grover ate my homework.

I have absolutely no pictures.  I spent this weekend running errands and socializing and cleaning and cutting the grass for the last time.  I could have taken pics of the grass cutting endeavor, but I hate cutting the grass so it didn’t even occur to me that the colors might have been pretty on the screen.  So lame.  So sad.

I have been kinda knitting.  OK.  I really didn’t do much knitting at all until Sunday afternoon.  I have to pick up about 4,000 stitches on the vest and have found that to be extremely dull.  In fact, I have gotten up to go downstairs to fold clothes and grate cheese for some enchiladas I’m making.  Anything, but picking up those stitches.  Well, we know this vest isn’t going to knit itself, so I best just suck it up and do it.  I’m now almost done with the picking up stitches part and will begin knitting with wild abandon until I screw it up and have to rip (again).   Consistency is my middle name.

Did I mention to you that I’m putting together a cookbook for my church’s Board of Deacons (the mission branch of the Presbyterian denomination)?  I’m enjoying it bunches and will show it to you when I’m done.  No other Deacons have offered to help me, so I feel quite autonomous and powerful.  I’m gonna do this proud.  We’re going to sell it to raise money to help people who have fallen between the cracks in our society.  There are more and more every day and I feel for them.  I belong to a church that believes in social justice and that has an effect on every aspect of our mission.  We are good deed-doers!!

I don’t think I have ever used this song, but I like it.  I personally believe that Joni Mitchell is one of the finest wordsmiths/songwriters ever.  This song is one of my favorites by her “Free Man in Paris” and it’s a 1984 live version.  Terrific!!!

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grover ate my homework.

  1. margene says:

    I love Joni SO much and her paintings are as great as her voice and song writing skills. Blue is the best album ever, IMO and I listen to it often.
    Your cookbook will be marvelous and I hope you sell tons of them.
    Knitting isn’t a race (I keep telling myself). Enjoy the process.
    XOXO

  2. Joy says:

    Tsk, tsk … blaming poor Grover – really! 😉 Some projects inspire me like that too – the up-side is that I get all sort of other stuff done that I’ve also been avoiding. Good luck with the cookbook – sounds likes a great project!

  3. Emiko says:

    Looks like your church gets involved in a lot of great causes – hope you sell lots and lots of them to help as many people as you can 🙂

    I don’t like picking up stitches, so I don’t blame you for taking lots of breaks to get it done.

  4. heideho says:

    I know the cookbook will be amazing. Silly Grover! Too bad EM can’t pick up all of those pesky stitches for you. I often look at my kitties and ask them why they didn’t work on my UFOs while I was at work.

  5. Cookie says:

    What would be easier?

    Teaching the doggie to mow the lawn? Or teaching the doggie to pick up stitches? I think he’s enjoy both. ;^)

  6. Rachel says:

    It takes me at least 3 tries to pick up stitches correctly. The cookbook will be awesome. Don’t neglect your online sales for the cookbook. I’d be happy to buy one. Church cookbooks always have the best recipes in them.

  7. marianne says:

    I’m with Rachel, would be happy to buy one!
    Picking up a bazillion stitches. Mercy. That’s what I say, over and over. while picking up a bazillion stitches.
    I love Joni, have been listening to her from the beginning. Hejira may be my favourite but I also love Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter…. (I really love them ALL!)
    XOXOXOX

Leave a Reply

