huff,puff,huff,puff….SLOW DOWN ALREADY!!!!

I’m trying to keep up,already.  We know that’s probably not gonna happen, so y’all just double back around for me, okay?  Thanks.

Our Thanksgiving table pre-food.  The platter in the lower right corner was brought to America by my Great Great Grandma from the UK.  The china is Mom’s as is the crystal and the silver.  I just LOVE using it.    I was absent from the blog due to preparations.  I am anything but well-ordered.  It takes absolutely nothing to divert my attention and I’m becoming more accepting of that particular personality flaw, so it takes me longer to prepare than it does other people.  Still, it was great fun and we had a lovely day.  I hope yours was as nice or nicer.  But, as it is with everything in my life, I have a big helper who was trying to avoid the confusion by hiding under the table.

I know I said I was going to use the linen tablecloth, but without the table leaf, the cloth drags on the floor and with my helpers, there was no way I was going to have the linen tablecloth dragging on the floor with crystal and china on top.  I’m slow, but not that stupid.  I substituted my damask and it was fine.

So, I’m gonna try to be a bit better about blogging.  I know life goes on without me, but I miss all of you so I’m going to try.  Have a lovely Saturday evening.

My soundtrack for today?  Alvin Lee and Love with “7 and 7 is”.  Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to huff,puff,huff,puff….SLOW DOWN ALREADY!!!!

  1. Cookie says:

    There you are!

    I’m so glad you had a good Thanksgiving. It can be such a stressful day with so many odd pressures. I’m sure your helpers lived up to that name and then some. ;^)

  2. Joy says:

    Lovely table, and much more elegant than ours, but with 2 teens and 1 almost-teen + 2 extra dogs, I opted for just a wee bit more utilitarian 😉 So glad things went well!

  3. margene says:

    It never slows down. We need to learn how to keep up. LOVE your table! We did nothing special, but you’ve inspired me to go all out for Christmas. xoxo

  4. marianne says:

    That is a Beautiful table!! (except the plates were EMPTY!!) ;^)
    I understand, more than you can ever imagine, I do understand. It’s quite the feat though, isn’t it? Accepting that trait and making the best of it.. it isn’t a flaw.
    XOXOX

  5. Emiko says:

    What a gorgeous table set up! Every year, I plan to take photos of everything before it is consumed, but by that point everyone is ready to chow down so it never happens 🙂

    Frank enjoyed his turkey meat and wasn’t lonely on turkey day, but he does enjoy his peace and quiet, so wasn’t sure if he was happy with all the noise. We kept it simple this year, but I did make some pumpkin pie with from semi-scratch (bought the crust at a local bakery). I love to bake, but am still intimidated by pie crust. I really need to get over it 🙂

  6. heideho says:

    Your table setting was gorgeous! I love that you have a platter from your Great, Great Grandmother… that is priceless, and what a connection to all past family gatherings. Did Grover and Esau Marie share some turkey with you? Grover looks like a hopeful pup in that picture.

Leave a Reply

