Oh,Just Shut UP, already!

That’s my new mantra. Zen enough fer ya? It’s what I’ve started saying to myself when I get all whiny and bitchy. So far, it has a 92% success record!  I don’t use it out loud or in mixed company or anything like that.  It’s a “just for me” mantra.  So, blogging twice in two days.  Can you stand it?  Don’t worry.  We all know that I’m completely incapable of maintaining this consistency.  I just wanted to chat a bit more today.  Grab a cup from the cupboard and pour a cup of tea and join me at the computer monitor.

I spent yesterday raking leaves and cleaning the yard (and, pond) just a bit.  I always have more leaves than bags or cans, so I’m a tad unkempt yardwise even after working for two hours, but if I get another chance before snow flies I’ll work at it again.  If not, so be it.

I found this cool pattern on Ravelry.  It’s the Lazy Girl Shawl by Megan Peters.  You have to be a member of Ravelry to see it, but it’s really neat.  Anyway, these are the yarns I’m thinking of making them with.  The blue/yellow combo is already in my possession and the yellow was sent to me long after I purchased the blue/yellow.

I’m not sure about the combination.  The top is a purer yellow and the bottom is sunshine yellow.  Of course, I could be completely overthinking this (we all know it’s a tendency), but I can’t tell.  But, won’t that look cool?    And, I’ve been knitting, but cannot show you the result.  As is typical for me, I completely changed my mind on the gift knitting and have been knitting like a fiend on the latest  last project for the gift. In fact, when I hit publish on this post I’m going to sit in my warm cozy chair and pick up the gift and go at it again.  I’m enjoying the pattern which makes it more fun on all counts.

I will leave you with my soundtrack for the day.  Joni Mitchell and “Woodstock”.  I never tire of her.

Have a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh,Just Shut UP, already!

  1. margene says:

    The colors will look great as the bright yellow will pop the blue. Too bad Joni never made it too Woodstock. Damn CSN kept her from going as they were “afraid” it would be too much. I think they just wanted to glory all to themselves.

  2. marianne says:

    That IS a pretty shawl!! I like those crescent shapes, and that looks to be pretty interesting, construction.
    Ahhh, yes. The Leaves and Autumn Clean-up. It is happening here also.
    I never tire of Joni either. She has always been and is still such an inspiration for me.
    I knew she didn’t actually get to Woodstock, but CSN kept her from landing? huh. So.. I take it Neil wasn’t part of that? Because I can’t imagine he would dare diss Joni like that.. “afraid”, bah. (I’m hoping I’m right, anyway)
    XOXOXOX

  3. Emiko says:

    I have that shawl in my queue too – it’s from one of the gals from an LYS not too far from where I live. I think your color choices will work great!

  4. Joy says:

    Interesting looking construction, and the yarns should look cheery – go for it!

  5. Sophanne says:

    Another yes vote on the yarn.im going to back tha “oh shut up already” phrase one step and toss it mr sophanne’s way when he keeps saying “tomorrow we go back to work”. For him it’s a jokey ha ha line . For me my stomach turns and has to settle each time he says it!

  6. Rachel says:

    I can say with authority that the yellows are different. 😉 How did I forget you had a hank of Poison D’art? Sheesh. Anywho, I think that going with a slightly different yellow will be a good thing. I’ll leave it to you whether or not that yellow is the right different yellow. I know you were wavering and you know you can always send it back. I’m flexible like that. My thinking on having a slightly different yellow is that a semisolid yellow that matched the Poison D’art yellow exactly would blend in to each other to be OVERWHELMING YELLOW, whereas a slightly different yellow would mellow things out a bit. Mellow the yellow. They call me mellow yellllooooowww!

  7. heideho says:

    I adore that scarf pattern. It looks brilliant on and because it’s knitted with shorter rows you can take it with you to church, appointments, etc. to work on. I’m constantly muttering to myself and making rude suggestions. “Shut up already” seems pretty tame. Just sayin’ Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

