I am the Queen of Dork. Welcome to my Dorkdom!!!!

My dear friend, Heide sent me a Christmas package.  I would say I wish she wouldn’t, but that would be a lie and then I wouldn’t get anything but coal for Christmas, so I’ll just say……THANKYOU, HEIDE!!   I got the package Thursday, but was unable to post about it because I had an appointment Thursday night and timejustranawayfrommeagain.  In the package were a chocolate covered pretzel (ILOVEDIT), a small jar of the best raspberry jam put by by my Heide ……..

This is how it looked before my Thursday evening snack and after I took it out of the darling burlap bag it came in.  Notice the knitting next to it.  Um, yeah.  That’s a sw*ffer cover I’ve been knitting on and off since October.  I lose interest after one or two rows so it’s gonna take some time to finish.  Notice the vintage of the jam?  This year.  And, it tastes fabulous.  And, no.  I’m not sharing unless you come over to my house and then we’ll sit down and have toast and jam.  K?

And, the other thing in the box was jammed (get it?  a pun?????)in pretty tightly.  Now, if you’ve known me long,  you know I’m a dork.  I know I’m a dork because according to Opus in Bloom County (I still miss it), you’re a dork if you wake up with eye boogers.  I do.  I am.  I also believe there is a coolness in dorkiness that is unappreciated by the masses who don’t understand us.  But, that’s their problem and I digress.  In the box was a knitted hat designed and knit by my Heide.  I remember commenting to her on it when she posted a picture, but never believed it would be sent to me!!!!!  It’s a Jayne hat from Firefly!!!!

I tried to take a picture modeling the hat, but my arms are too short and my bathroom mirror too small.   I also contemplated putting it on Grover, but didn’t want dog fur on the inside, so this is the best I could do.  Isn’t it marvelous???  Heide.  I will wear this with pride.  Thank you so much!!!!!

Now, to clean up a little business.  I have been away because I have been working on the cookbook and stuff.  I also wanted to see if I enjoyed the blog or if it was just something I did because it was a habit.  I have come to a conclusion.  I enjoy the blog.  I love your comments.  I love that someone cares about my dismal knitting and me.  So, I think I’m gonna hang in here.  I missed you all.

Stinky is doing well.  She has spent several nights on the flannel encased pillow next to my head in the bedroom.  I don’t have the heart to move her.  She rests quietly until about 2 or 3 a.m. and then gets up and wanders the house.  She is much quieter that way and if she will remain that way (fat chance) we can co-exist without my shedding any blood. Grover is fine, but getting slower.  I don’t mean he’s not energetic, but he doesn’t move quite as quickly as he once did.  He still has energy and plays with his stuffed squeaky toys, but the speed is down a notch.  Here is his pressie from Santa’s elf, Pawplepuff.  We all know Santa is too busy and has to delegate this time of year.

Can you give me an “eek” of cuteness?  Yeah.  Me, too.  I could have had his name put on the cookie, but it wouldn’t have been ready for 4 hours.  Seriously????

So, I need to get up off my mcfartbutt and get baking.  It’s good to be back and I’ll see you in a day or so!  Here’s my soundtrack for today, cause I’m in the Christmas spirit.   Yo Yo Ma and Alison Krauss and the Wexford Carol.

Have a good one!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am the Queen of Dork. Welcome to my Dorkdom!!!!

  1. Joy says:

    Ummm … raspberry – love! Very nice gift indeed and I know you’ll enjoy the hat for your strolls with Grover :^)

  2. margene says:

    I’d be right over for tea and toast (with jam!) if I could! I love your dorkiness because it’s a lot like mine. The hat is darling and you’ll really love it when you and Grover are out for your walks. I hear snow is coming to your area. We are envious! I’m sick to death of this inversion and the gray.

  3. Emiko says:

    Yum, love homemade jam. I’m almost out of my strawberry jam (note to self: double the batch next summer). I like swapping a jar for another’s homemade jam/preserves too. Awesome Jayne hat too!

    I’m just not feeling it this year, so it took a bit of pushing and shoving to get me to bake. I finally did some yesterday and made two kinds of madeleines (orange cardamom and the other green tea) to give as gifts.

    And Grov’s cookie…. omg soo freaking cute!

  4. Cookie says:

    What a wonderful surprise!

  5. marianne says:

    I love your dorkdom, and your monkey brain. I always feel so comfortable and accepted here 😀 Love the hat!!! and the Biscuit!!! and the jam and chocolate… Sweeeet!

Leave a Reply

