I’m doing my part

I got a message from the most pleasant man in Australia and he thanked me for helping him with his college domestic project. I felt so warm inside. It isn’t often that I can help anyone that I have not met with a subject of which I know nothing. I feel sorry for this young man, though. His grammar was atrocious and I am a bit concerned that he won’t do well in his “college” class if he depends on me for his information.  I got suspicious when I noticed that WordPress had put the message in Spam.  Don’t you wonder the success rate those phony emails rack up?   And, being the doof that I am, I read them all.  I started out of fear that someone I know would be thrown into the pot and it has grown into a fascination with poor grammar and hideous spelling.  There is also a gift for sentences missing nouns and verbs.  Unless that has all changed, I think we still need one of each for a sentence.  I do know that dangling participles are no longer a huge issue to worry with.

I do want mention that this is the second day in a row that I have posted.   I missed you all more than I realized. I also missed the fun of writing about my monkey brain thoughts.  Our new pastor is a strong believer in meditation, but I haven’t the heart to tell him my monkey brain is very busy while he is practicing the breathing in (Christ within me) and breathing out (Christ surrounds me).  I love the practice, but can only hang on for about 2 of them and then away the mind goes again.  Working on projects and ideas and all sorts of things

I went out yesterday to finish up my Christmas shopping only to realize after I got home that I had forgotten the most important part of our Christmas.  The gag gifts.  So, I’m not all smug and feeling clever today.  Maybe, I’ll recover some smug and cleverness later on.  After church today, I will be finishing up my baking.  It’s all cookies today and I’m only making 3.  I’m making Magic Bars or Hello Dollies (this all depends on something I haven’t quite figured out yet.  I have always called them Magic Bars, but many of my friends call them Hello Dollies), lemon cake cookies with a glaze (a grand experiment because I don’t have the necessary baking pan for one of the recipes) and Chocolate Pecan Rum Balls (no cook).  That’s it.  I’m not baking the traditional Toll House chocolate chip because I eat the dough until I get sick and then I eat the cookies until I get sick.  If I’m not going to show any sort of discipline then I’m not going to make them.  I sure hope somebody else does though.  I love ’em.

So, you all (or ya’ll south of the Mason Dixon line) have a wonderful Sunday.  It’s sunny here in Middle Earth and quite cool (30F).     The front door is open and the storm door is letting in the morning sun.  It’s only on the weekends that we get to enjoy this activity and it is an activity for the furbabiez.  Here is Ms. Stinky sitting in the sunbeam on the rug.

If you look closely you can see the sunbeam is just a small ray a bit smaller than her butt width.  She is sitting at the very end of the beam.  I do love the little goofball.

My soundtrack for today?  If you loved Calvin & Hobbes, you will enjoy this “A Very Calvin & Hobbes Christmas”:

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m doing my part

  1. heideho says:

    If this young “student” is writing about big-hearted, wonderful people, then at least he’s in the right spot. Cookie dough was meant to be extensively sampled. The lemon cookies sounds divine and sunbeams really should be more accomodating for the full-figured kitties. Love you lots!

  2. margene says:

    No snow?! We’ll I’d take the sunshine.
    Your cookies sound so delicious!
    We miss you when you don’t post so I love seeing you two days in a row!

  3. Emiko says:

    Your cookie list sounds delicious! I make the standard toll house cookies too (though I’m only a cookie dough eater when it’s in my ice cream) 🙂
    Love how cats take advantage of any sunlight that comes into the house, they sure are on top of it, aren’t they?

    I missed you here in bloggie world too, glad to hear that you like blogging and that it’s not a chore 🙂 I can’t blog until my knitting gifts are received next week since some of them read the blog. So I hope to get back in it after the holidays.

  4. Joy says:

    Good to see you again, and I *love* the picture of EM! They do love any little bit of sun. I think I’m over my cookie fit, although I may have to do 1 more batch of snickerdoodles to keep a certain someone around here quiet :^) Have a good week!

  5. Sophanne says:

    Beam me up, stinky mcfartbutt

  6. Cookie says:

    Such a smart kitty!

  7. marianne says:

    Mmmm. cookies. MMMMMM cookie dough. I like to shape the dough into small pieces, freeze them, then eat them. MMMmmmm.
    LOVE the Calvin and Hobbs snowpeople. LOVE I tell ya! I miss Bill too.
    I might just have to slap that one up on fb.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

