The best laid plans of mice and men require a better memory than I have

You know that whole Sunday afternoon baking thing? Didn’t happen. First of all, I completely forgot that my D (of the world famous J & D) had a concert Sunday afternoon. I thought I would have time to make a batch of cookies before going, but after finally reading the recipe, realized I was missing important ingredients for both of the so-called fast cookies.  In other words, I screwed up…………..again.  Ah, well.  I’m of a mind that music and hearing my D sing  is more important and that I should be able to get my cookies baked in the evenings this week.   Of course, then it hit me.  When I don’t blog, I’m not held accountable for my lack of planning and awful memory.  Do I feel bad now that I’m back blogging? Nah.    You all are way more forgiving of my monkey brain/bad planning than I am and as time wears on, it’s not bothering me as much.

The concert was beautiful, well executed and very timely (meaning it was music for the Advent Season).  There was a beautiful Magnificat (song of Mary) and a nice version of  O Magnum Mysterium (not my favorite one, that one will be my soundtrack for today).   I enjoy the music of the Collegium Vocale of St. Louis and they give occasional concerts at my church.  Before the concert I was given my Christmas gift from my D, potholders.  Look at these beauties.

They are solid and gorgeous.  Now.  How do I keep them clean????????  I am the messiest cook in the world.   This is a huge concern for me.  Of course, D said it’s no big deal and they’re gonna get dirty, but they are just so pretty.  Perfect for cookie baking, don’t you think?

Gotta get going.  Here are The Cambridge Singers and my absolute favorite O Magnum Mysterium by Thomas from the late 1500’s.

Have a good Monday all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The best laid plans of mice and men require a better memory than I have

  1. Cookie says:

    An enjoyed day is worth far more than the cookies, honey. Trust me.

  2. Joy says:

    The cookies will be there later – the music wouldn’t have been – great choice! Love the bright & cheerful potholders – don’t think I’ve ever seen loops that pretty.

  3. margene says:

    It’s more important spend time with family and friends than to bake them cookies! The potholders are beautiful and a good reminder a gift is only of value if it can be used. They will always clean with a bit of soaking, so don’t worry so much! Relax, have a lovely evening and take care of yourself. We’re all screw-ups, sweetie.

  4. Emiko says:

    This time of year, it’s important to make quick change decisions for one’s own sanity and decide that some things are ok if left for another day (or put off altogether) 🙂 Easier said than done sometimes, but I have to be reminded of that all the time, especially this time of year. I’m feeling a little blah this year, so just keeping it simple. And those potholders???? Awesome, awesome gift and perfect for those postponed cookie making, so it all worked out, didn’t it? 🙂

  5. cvsl says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed our concert! Thanks for coming. Your good wishes for Monday came true for me. It started when I good and well felt like getting up. (That’s always a nice way to begin a day.) Now it’s ending with the O Magnum Mysterium you added to your blog. How nice.

  6. marianne says:

    of COURSE it’s more important to go and listen and support your loved ones, those cookies… they waited patiently, right?
    I’m certain those are The Prettiest Potholders Evah!!!!! (now I’m all inspired to break out that little loom frame thingie… except ruhroh, I need more loops, hahahah!) xox

Leave a Reply

