Low key

We have had a very low key New Year’s holiday weekend here in Middle Earth. The family is sick and I’m am recovered. I did manage to go to church on Sunday (it was so nice to be with people again) and then to the office to get in a couple of hours of work. I went home and caught up on the laundry (I’m actually finishing up today). The wreath is off the front door and the lights are off. Now, we hunker down for winter. It finally showed up yesterday. This a.m. when the pup and I went out for our walk, it was bloody windy and cold. I’m still in wuss-mode, so it was really miserable. I’ll be fine if it sticks around, but it takes some getting used to. We’ll just see what happens. This has been a strange weather season. Too warm. I think that’s why the flu is getting around so splendidly. Everyone is out and about.

This morning while I was sitting at my computer, this was what I was greeted by…………………

Can you tell what it is?  It’s really hard because it was about 3″ from my face.  It’s a Grover nose!   He comes and stands next to me for huggles.

Here we are.  My arm resting on his neck and him leaning on me.  It doesn’t get much better than that.  He’s such a snuggy-boy, plus he’s really warm.

I have been knitting and am getting close on one SIL sock for Christmas.   I suffer so much over what to knit people that I just don’t get it done, so I’m not gonna do it.  Not unless the spirit hits me.  Besides, I’m so darned slow.   Here’s the sock as it is this morning.

Knitting helper, Stinky, is there for gauge (and, shear nosiness).   I really love it.  It’s sparkly, so it looks like snow.   I should finish it today or tomorrow.

Also, I got knitting for Christmas.  I wanted to share it with you because both are beautiful and knit with love which makes them powerful stuff.   These are the socks my BSIL knit for me.  They are so very soft!!!

I just noticed it was blurry.  Blame the cat.  That’s what I’m gonna do.  Aren’t the socks lovely?  Stinky gave them a good smelling, too.

Here are the mittens Peanut knit for me.  It took her a year or so to finish the second one, but I held onto the first one so that I had at least the one.  Thankfully, she is very tolerant of her bizarre aunt.  I love them.  They are warm and very soft and very dressy.

The only reason Stinky wasn’t in this shot was because she was doing this.

And, on that note of inelegance, I bid you adieu for today.  Have a wonderful Monday.  And, my soundtrack for today is Billie Holiday and “I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm”.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Low key

  1. margene says:

    Love from our furry friends feels so warm and good. You are so loved by the people in your life. The knit gifts are gorgeous! The mittens will last you your whole life long and they’re about as beautiful as mittens can be.

  2. Joy says:

    Yeah, the nose is a little hard to make out, but they do come over and let you know when they want attention, don’t they 😉 Glad you’re feeling better and love the mittens. Nice that someone knits for you!

  3. Cookie says:

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better and have warm pets to look after you. What wonderful mittens! One day I’ll figure out that sort of knitting, but not today.

    xoxox

  4. Emiko says:

    So loving this post because it’s filled with our snuggable furbabies and knitting. Those mittens you were gifted are gorgeous and I love the colors.
    Frank does that last pose like ms. EM in the last photo – we call it his “prawn” stance (from the District 9 movie because he looks like a curled up prawn, lol)

  5. marianne says:

    What gorgeous knits (!!!!) the sock you’re knitting on (yes, snowy) and the socks (are they red or dark orange?) and mittens you received, how fortunate you are to have knitters in your family!!
    Awww, big black nose 😀 what a lovey! and a leaner, heee. sweet!
    Glad to hear you’re feeling better and…. since that was the 2nd of Jan.. did it warm up a bit this past week for you? It’s been incredibly sunny and mild here. which of course just meant yard work (where DO these leaves keep coming from?!?!?!!)
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

