“A killer on the road. Brain squirming like a toad…….”

“Riders on the Storm” by Jim Morrison. You want more profundity? Not today little ones. I don’t want your brains squirming like a toad on me.

How ya been?  I’m doing fine thanks.  I’m posting because I should be cleaning, doing laundry and vacuuming, but instead have decided to update my blog.  Work avoidance is my life.  Besides, it’ll be there when I’m done here.  It just won’t get done on its own.  I blame Grover and Stinky, but they just don’t care.  At least you can elicit some guilt from children on occasion.  A dog and cat refuse to understand.   Silly things.

Last evening I was chatting away with my David and enjoying the heck out of our conversation when I smelled something burning.  I thought to myself “Self?  That’s a bit strong for the crispy turkey burger you made earlier.  You best check up on it”  So, being a fairly  relatively intelligent adult, I got up and walked out and opened up the little counter oven door and was greeted with roiling smoke  and the smoke alarm beeping and telling me to “Leave the building.  Smoke detected.  Leave the building.  Smoke detected.   Leave the building.  Smoke detected.”  You get the drift.  Poor David was alarmed and I was just pissed.  I couldn’t get the stupid alarm down after putting the pan on the deck.  The contents were black.

Waterlogged after all night rain.

I was certain I had ruined my favorite brownie pan (the one that got dropped last week) and the house was full of smoke.  Grover was standing under the loud alarm and Stinky was on the basement steps yelling at me.  How can one woman create so much chaos?   David offered to call the fire department, but it wasn’t necessary.  Just smoke and stink.  And, a lesson learned.  Put the damned timer (a Christmas gift, no less) on whenever you put something in the oven.  Now, there is no prize, but what burned (hint…..not brownies)?  Kudos and hearty congrats to the winners.

My soundtrack for today is the Rolling Stones.  Enjoy.  It’s from 1968 and it’s “Dear Doctor”.

Have a good one!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “A killer on the road. Brain squirming like a toad…….”

  1. Cookie says:

    I’m guessing chicken wings.

    Thank goodness the fire department didn’t roll out. That’s always so embarrassing. No matter how understanding they are.

    Ya know, you could always call me if you want to waste some time.

  2. Joy says:

    Hard on brownie pans, that! A timer is your friend, or at least as long as you put it where you can hear it. I’m pretty dependent on mine! Glad everyone’s OK – Toby is *very* upset by beeping things like smoke alarms.

  3. sophanne says:

    wowsa! i’ve got no clue but I’m going to guess some sort of potato product.

  4. marianne says:

    Whoa squirmin’ worms! broccoli? oooh, I know what that smells like. oops.
    But I had no idea what it was looking at the pan full.
    Yikes. Glad it all didn’t catch on fire.
    Another day tomorrow though 😀
    XOXOXOX

  5. margene says:

    Now you know the reason I don’t bake. I can’t be bothered stay close enough to hear the timer. I don’t boil water for tea on the stovetop for the same reason. You are a doin’ fine, no reason for guilt, as you said, the cleaning will wait until you have the time. Ask me how I know. xoxo

  6. Emiko says:

    LOL I’ve done that more than I care to admit 🙂 And Frank HATES the smoke alarm, so I think I’m doing a better job of not letting these types of things happen. It usually happens after I turn off the timer just to put something in for “two more minutes”…. even for 2 minutes, you just learn you have to put that timer on 🙂 Hope the smokey smell’s cleared away!

  7. heideho says:

    Were you making a birthday cake? Happy birthday Dear!

  8. marianne says:

    Happy Birthday, Sweetiepie! Wishing you a day of fabulous celebrations!!
    XOXOXOX

Leave a Reply

