“Spring has sprung. The grass has riz.

I wonder where the birdies is.”  Poetry is my life.  I’ll tell you where the birdies is.   They are fighting for mates at my feet.  That’s where they is.  I had 3 robins fighting at my feet yesterday.  Apparently, they were engrossed in their disagreement.  It didn’t end happily for either male.  This spring has seen an abundance of bugs, birds and flowers.  The May flowers are out now.  I saw lilacs  Ah, well.

I have been knitting.  I am working on the smallest socks I have ever made and my arthritic hands are not happy, but I am and I love them.  I also hope and pray that tiny little “E” gets them before her 15th birthday  Here they are today.

Sock #1

Also, I am keenly aware that I have been blithering about the unusual spring weather this year, but I have botanical proof.  My daylilies (mid-summer blooming) are dwarfing my lovely white tulips.

Unnaturally tall daylilies

My epimedium is blooming alongside the tulips.

The grass isn’t even completely greened up, but the epimedium (in the front of the pic) is in full bloom.  Now, I’ll bet many of you are saying “So?”.  So, these plants are not supposed to emerge at the same time.  The daylilies should only be about 3-4″ maxium and the epimedium is just supposed to be greening up a bit.  The yard is lovely, but at the end of May the dandelions will be the only flowers blooming in my yard.  And, the final shocker gardening-wise is my peony bush.  I have never seen it this far along the last week of March.

Last week was a rotten awful ugly horrible icky week for me.  Remember I do love my hyperbole.  This week will be much much better.  So, you have a good one and, hopefully, I’ll be back sooner than later!!

My soundtrack for today is (are) The Rugby’s and “You, I”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Spring has sprung. The grass has riz.

  1. Cookie says:

    What are we going to talk about this summer when nothing is blooming because it bloomed now? ;^)

  2. joyknits says:

    Strange year indeed! I’m afraid we’re likely to talking about how hot it is this summer, given the start it’s off to.

    Hope this week really is much, much better!

  3. marianne says:

    Yes! Things are greening/growing/blooming that shouldn’t be Right Now! I nearly fainted looking at the peony photo.. I see a bud! I shouldn’t be surprised, Bobby was at his dad’s house a couple of days ago taking photos and sure enough, he took photos of the peonies and buds everywhere (we’re just a touch ahead of you down here).
    Ca-RAzy.
    But my oh my, your tulips are gorgeous.
    That little bitty pink sock on the needles is adorable!!!!
    XOXOX

    • knitwonpurltoo says:

      You are about 1 week ahead of us, aren’t you? The peony bush is over 12″ high already. That’s just sick. Thank you. The tulips are lovely this year. And, I do love the little pink sock (hats off to the “Mutts” cartoon). Hugs, girlie!!!!

      Comment: Yes! Things are greening/growing/blooming that shouldn’t be Right Now! I nearly fainted looking at the peony photo.. I see a bud! I shouldn’t be surprised, Bobby was at his dad’s house a couple of days ago taking photos and sure enough, he took photos of the peonies and buds everywhere (we’re just a touch ahead of you down here). Ca-RAzy. But my oh my, your tulips are gorgeous. That little bitty pink sock on the needles is adorable!!!! XOXOX

  4. zeneedle says:

    Many of our blooms are ahead of schedule, but not as far ahead as yours! Trees are just starting to bloom and they be full of colorful blossoms just in time for a huge deep freeze. This year is weird, but much more so for other areas than here. Here’s to a much better week for you! clink

  5. heideho says:

    All we have here is rain. Lots and lots of rain. Your wee little sock is adorable and I can’t wait to see pictures of the finished pair.

Leave a Reply

