It’s Friday eve!!!!

I feel like the Cowardly Lion stroking his own tail and repeating “I’m not afraid. I’m not afraid” over and over again in the Wicked Witch’s forest. My mantra is just a bit different. Mine is “I’m glad I have a job. I’m glad I have a job.”  And there are days when the witch’s forest looks mighty homey to me.   Now, don’t go feeling all sorry for me. I have a corner on that market.  I just wonder if it’s like my favorite Peggy Lee song “Is That All There Is?  I don’t even have a bad job.  I have an ok job that could pay more, but doesn’t.  I just think I’ve reached that stage of my working life (200+ years) where I cannot help but believe there has got to be something more.  Of course, I could be wrong.  Look at Stinky.  She gets up in the morning with Grover and me and follows us around the house, nagging at us and trying to get us to do her bidding .  When the pup and I return from our walk, she starts up once again.  After she is fed and given her treats, she starts up again until I leave for work.  At that point, she goes to bed…….again.  This happens every single time I come into the house.  The repetition is endless.

There’s a part of me that has trouble seeing the difference;-P  Have a lovely weekend.  And, my soundtrack for today is, of course, Peggy Lee.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Friday eve!!!!

  1. joyknits says:

    Hang in there! Our pets really have a rough life, eh? Granny used to say that ours always slept until we came home 😉 Hugs!

  2. zeneedle says:

    Grrlfriend, you’re singing my song!! Everyday I wonder the same thing. How can this be all there is? However, it is what it is and we can drive ourselves around the bend or enjoy our moments of freedom away from pushing paper. I’m looking forward to better weather and the chance to be outdoors, breath the summer air and warm my soul.

  3. Emiko says:

    Oh man, I’m in your boat. That seems to be my mantra these days too, but it’s getting harder and harder to stay there. But until things pick up for my Bear, it’s a safety net. My kitty Frank likes repetition (“order” as he likes to call it, hehe) and boy is he a very punctual cat too! He doesn’t care if it’s Saturday, he wants to be fed at 7am as he does on the weekdays, lol Wishing you a great weekend!

  4. marianne says:

    oh sweetie. There IS more, it’s usually outside the job though ;).
    Cracked me up, Stinky’s routine.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

