And, then, all the fish died.

It was sort of sad.  I went out to pond last Sunday to see how the little guys were doing and noticed that one looked like it was wedged between two leaves.  I went over and the poor guy was dead.  All of the fish had died as a result of the hail storm.  I had had those fish (or their predecessors) for at least 10 years.  It  sorta broke my heart.  Poor little guys.  The hail acted as a concussive and wiped them all out.  So, this morning, I went out and got 10 more Comet goldfish.  They cost me twenty-seven cents a piece.  Seriously.  I let them sit in the water for a bit and then let them out (not the correct procedure).  They are happily swimming in the biggest fish tank they’ve ever seen.  It’s also hot here and humid as all get out, so I had a choice of either getting the fish, now, or filling in the pond (due to the mosquito problem of having a huge body of water with no movement).  I’m not quite up to filling in the pond.  I still love watching my fish and the birds flapping around in the shallow end bathing.  Plus, the raccoons do not eat goldfish, but adore Koi, so it’s goldfish here.

I completely crapped out this past week on blogging.  Well, to be honest, I worked and came home for the most part.  I finally caved and called the doctor.  I thought I was just having a nasty allergic reaction to the mold and stuff, but in reality, I had a huge sinus infection.  I finally caved and called my doctor.  They asked my symptoms and, without hesitation, told me they would call in a prescription.  I hate doing that for a sinus infection, but the minute it heads for my chest, I cave.  I’m much better now;-P

I promise to come back soon because I have a couple of things to show you.  It’s so exciting!  Have a wonderful relaxing Saturday!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And, then, all the fish died.

  1. heideho says:

    Poor little fishies! So sorry to hear that they moved on to the big pond in the sky. I hope the new batch lasts a really long time too. Glad you went to the doctor. Sinus infections are nothing to mess with. Hugs to you, Grover and Ms. E.M.

  2. joyknits says:

    Sorry about the fish – talk about the storm piling it on! Hope the sinus infection gets better soon – those are no fun :^(

  3. Emiko says:

    Aww poor fishies, that must’ve been one hailstorm to wipe ’em out! I’ve been trying to figure out if it was a sinus infection or allergies that had been bugging me earlier this week, but I’m thinking it was allergies. Seems like allergies are on the bad side this year for me, yuck! Wishing you a speedy recovery from the sinus infection.

  4. marianne says:

    Oh dear, so sorry about the fishies. 😥
    Also sorry about your sinus infection. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better, even though you did need to take the antibiotics.
    The weather, early warm temps, everything out there doing its thing has so many people suffering, ugh.
    xox

  5. Rachel says:

    Oh no! Poor fishes and poor you. 😦 Glad you called the doctor. Respiratory ailments are no fun.

  6. zeneedle says:

    Seeking treatment is the best thing to do as respiratory infections are nothing to sneeze at. They’ll become worse, overtime, if you try to leave them be. It would have been very upsetting to find the fish belly-up. You did the right thing in replacing them right away as you’ll have a summer with a pond full of golden light and the fish will have time to acclimate. Please take care of yourself, dear one!

  7. crafterscupboard says:

    Sorry about the fishies but I’m glad you were able to get new ones. I didn’t know that raccoons wouldn’t go for the comet fish! That’s good news. I was thinking about putting two or three in my little pond but I’m wondering if a certain cat I know would fall in going for them. lol I’ll look into that. I hope you start feeling much better soon. I’m glad you got a prescription to kick that infection! 🙂

  8. Cookie says:

    Oh, honey. I am so sorry. I hope you’re feeling better by now.

Leave a Reply

