I have an excuse this time……..

I have been watering. We are smack dab in the middle of a drought. The above picture is my grass.  The green stuff is weeds.  The brown is grass.  I have been watering my brand new baby knock-out rose and all my other beautiful flowers and bushes, trying to keep them alive, because on top of the drought we have been over 100 F since Thursday, and from the looks of things, it will not change for at least another week.  Not only is that a remarkable sentence, but it might even be a run-on sentence.  Or, not.  The only plant in my world that seems to think the heat and sun are okey-dokey.I have absolutely no idea what this little plant is because I got it at a farmer’s market and the seller couldn’t remember what it was.  The plant is hanging from the front porch overhang.  My BSIL thinks it might be a kind of portulaca and I’m pretty sure she’s right.

I have been knitting on Vittorio, but life has been distracting.  I had an epiphany driving home from work last night.  You see, I got a new roof due to the April 28 hail storm this week and it was stressful.  I was concerned about the pup because he and Stinky were home alone during the hail storm and ever since, Grover has been a bit clingy like velcro.  So, I was trying to protect my little boy from the trauma.  The roofing company told me that they would be out this past Thursday so I took the boy to camp for the day.  The roofers never showed due to the intense heat issue, so they said they’d be there on Friday.  Grover is too exhausted after a day at camp to go again the next day, so he had to stay home.  The best laid plans of mice and me.  So, I dosed his drinking water with Rescue Remedy and hoped for the best and went to work.  These guys were good.  They started my roof at 6:30 a.m. and were done by 2:00 p.m.   The temps reached 105F.  Oh, right.  My epiphany?  I am becoming my mother.  She used to say that she loved having things fixed up, but hated the confusion.  Me, too.  There is more to this story, but you have to wait until tomorrow.  A serial post.  This is so very exciting except that I know how it ends.

My soundtrack for today?  No brainer……………………………..”Summer in the City”, but this time it’s by Joe Cocker.  Since when does he wear a suit???????????????????????????

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I have an excuse this time……..

  1. joyknits says:

    It’s turning out to be a tough summer for sure! I gave up and moved all my planters around to the north side of the house so the porch looks really bare. Love the plant – it’s certainly some kind of succulent. I agree with your Mom – the having done part is a real pain, even though the results are usually worth it. Try to stay cool!

  2. zeneedle says:

    We’re all like your mom. Confusion is my bane. The plant, whatever it is, is gorgeous! It’s nearly 100 here with 6% humidity and wind. Fires abound. I’m going to go sit under the cooler with a very cold drink and lift my glass to you. Clink, my friend!

  3. emicat says:

    Some crazy temps going around. We were looking at a map with temps in the U.S. last night and we were the only place below 70. Crazy! We’ve been calling it Juneuary over here.

  4. marianne says:

    Purslane.. I believe, and it is part of the portulaca group. I love the stuff. Have some planted also.. in fact, every summer I get me some of that pretty lovely.
    Yep. just plain hot. wow.. Joe in a suit. 😀
    xoxox

  5. heideho says:

    Would love to share the cool temps and drizzle we’ve been experiencing. Glad you’re getting a new roof. Sorry for Grover and you having to endure such chaos. EM is probably indifferent to the hubbub, as it doesn’t directly effect her royal self.

    • knitwonpurltoo says:

      Love the new roof. You Northwesterners might have a bit of trouble with triple digits for 7 days straight. You’re used to damp and cool, aren’t you? Or, is that another myth? I honestly don’t know. Stinky heads to the basement and Grover seemed only mildly upset. I think it helped for him to know it was ok for those guys to be up on our roof;-P

      Comment: Would love to share the cool temps and drizzle we’ve been experiencing. Glad you’re getting a new roof. Sorry for Grover and you having to endure such chaos. EM is probably indifferent to the hubbub, as it doesn’t directly effect her royal self

Leave a Reply

