Gosh! Life is interesting at times.

Pictures not included due to slow witted blogger forgetting that she had a  camera on her cell phone. This morning, Grover decided that he needed to go outside at 5:15 a.m. It’s still sorta kinda dark, so I sent him on his way with the back porch light on for his security. He’s very brave, but only in the light.
Upon returning to the hall, I decided to use the facilities before returning to bed. That’s when I heard the sound. It was a humming sound in my bathroom that has never been there before. I was disconcerted (being not quite awake). I walked into the kitchen, again, to check in there, but there was no sound, just a pup ready to come back into the air conditioned abode. I then proceeded back into the bedroom. Nope. No sound. That’s when my mind shot off sideways and I became concerned.  I went upstairs and checked in the attic.  Nope, no sound.  I went downstairs and checked the basement.  No sound.  After 45 minutes of wandering around the house (which included banging on walls just in case there were insects laying in wait for me in the walls of my home), I got dressed and took the pup for a walk.  It was 84 at 6:00 this morning.  We walked around for about 20 minutes and as we came to the street that leads directly to my house, we saw water in the street.  Now, water in the street is a seriously unusual thing right now in Middle Earth, so I was keenly aware that there was a possible problem with the water main.  When we got right to the intersection, I saw the manhole cover bouncing merrily in the fountain made by the broken water main.  Being a good citizen and civic-minded at all times, I called the police department (not 911) and reported the problem.  I was informed that the water company was already informed and not to worry.  Honestly?  I wasn’t worried in the first place.  Grover wanted to explore, but the pavement looked buckled, so I resisted allowing him to frolic in the newly formed fountain.  And, when we returned home, the humming sound in the bathroom had ceased.   Who knew?

It is now 10:00 and 96, headed to 108, and the water company is working down at the break.  I don’t know if we’ll lose water today, or not, but we’ll be fine.  As long as the air conditioning works, we’re good to go.  And, of course, if anything else exciting happens, I’ll let you know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gosh! Life is interesting at times.

  1. Cookie says:

    OMG! WTF?! FFS!

  2. Joy says:

    Way too much excitement – any progress yet? Last time I looked (a couple of minutes ago) it was 105 here – can’t wait for the front to come through and knock the heat down! Imagine 88-89 sounding good. Try to stay cool!

  3. margene says:

    It’s 72 at 8:00am and only 96 today. Thursday is expected to be 102, but our humidity will only be around 10%. So, our cooler air did not come your way? xoxo

  4. heideho says:

    That is just way too hot. Hopefully you didn’t lose water and things cools off soon.

Leave a Reply

