And, the bear slowly walks from her den………..

Oh, wait!!! That’s Spring, isn’t it? Not August. Oh, shuckerdoodle. I hate when I do that. But, yet, it’s so very perfect for this summer. I have hidden out in the house most of July and part of August. This past weekend the weather was downright chilly. In the low 90’s during the day and 70’s and a tad cooler at night. Jacket weather!!!!  I haven’t had to cut my grass for over 8 weeks because of the heat and drought.  Not complaining, just stating facts.  And, we got lucky this weekend.  My Peanut was in town visiting and we had decided a couple of weeks ago to go to the Chinese Lantern Festival at the Missouri Botanical Garden.

I ordered the tickets when the temperatures were in the 100’s.  We were determined to go and enjoy ourselves, dammit.  By the time Friday came up, we couldn’t believe our good luck.  We had dinner on “The Hill” and arrived with about another 5 million people.  It wasn’t that bad, though.  Everyone was so pleasant and so very very happy to be outside and not completely miserable.  It was a delightful evening.  The second dragon.  The night picture?  That dragon with his head that went from side to side and blew smoke was made entirely from china dishes.  Platters and teacups.  Amazing.   The platters were tied together in an ornate star design.  Simply beautiful and a very dramatic sight at night.  There was only one thing that disturbed us a tad.  We found this little display just a bit disturbing.  I was rather afraid to turn my back.

I have been knitting and have two FO’s.  No.  Really.  I do.  Hey.  Give me a break, willya?  Sheesh.  I’ll show pictures, but not now.  I know we’re friends, but you don’t have to be mean.  Have a wonderful Monday night and Tuesday.  If you’re nice to me, I’ll be back.  OK.  I’ll be back anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And, the bear slowly walks from her den………..

  1. Joy says:

    Great to see you pop up – I’d just been thinking about you. We saw the first dragon when we drove past the Garden recently, but not the other one – how neat that you got to go! Can’t wait to see your knitting 🙂

  2. Cookie says:

    You knit? Did I know that?

    LOVE the lanterns! The part of me that still loves Hello Kitty wants a garden full of those creepy pandas, btw. Don’t judge me. It’s still hot here.

  3. margene says:

    How wonderful to hear your weather broke, if only for a short time! Even better to hear you were able to escape and enjoy the out of doors during a beautiful festival. xoxo

  4. heideho says:

    The dragons are amazing and I’m glad you were able to enjoy the Lantern Festival with “mild” weather. The pandas aren’t as creepy as some other things out in this world… like the Teletubbies or Russle Brand. Can’t wait to see your finished knits my dear!

  5. Emiko says:

    What a cool festival! Amazing about dragon made out of china dishes too. And yes, those pandas are kinda creepy. It’s like their curved paws are beckoning for you to come hither and then…I don’t even want to know what those creepy bears are up to, lol 🙂

  6. Rachel says:

    I so wish they would extend the festival into the fall months. I can’t just bear to face the crush of people. I am glad you enjoyed it! Great pics.

Leave a Reply

