…and, boy, did we have fun.

Yesterday, our Joy drove up from “the country” to meet me for a day of girl fun.  As we parted company, she remembered that she had brought her camera, but neglected to take any pictures.   I lamented that I had forgotten my camera.  We certainly are a pair.  Anyway, we met and drove together to the World’s Smallest Craft Show.  It was held in a house (it was quite chilly yesterday) and there were three artists.  It was so much fun and there were such interesting pieces.  It might have been a small show, but there was a huge amount of talent.  I managed to buy something from all three of the artists, but we were invited by our Rachel of Dyeabolical Yarns.  Of course, I bought a bit from our girl.

Rachel’s “Queen’s Tea”  is on the right.  That will be the body of the “Plume” shawl by Lisa Mutch.  The black on the left is Cascade merino and is quite lovely.  I know it’s black, but kiddos, the pattern is named and inspired by “The Raven” by Edgar Allan Poe.  It needed just a tad of black for me.  I’m pumped.  I know I’m still knitting for Christmas, but I plan on just continuing and starting this baby as soon as I’m done with Christmas.

I also purchased some cotton.  I promised Peanut a potholder for her new apartment and cannot find the colors she requested, so I’m just gonna give her a color bonanza.  If it’s too loud, she can put it in a drawer.  I’ve given up on the teal/red.  So part of the colors are this:I love this.  Hope Peanut does.

And, this was so not gonna happen, but then Rachel made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  She let me have them.

These will be mittens.  Unspun mulberry silk.  Now, all I need is time to knit them.  I have a very full knitting plate right now.

After we left the World’s Smallest Craft Show, we headed to Knitorious. What a great knit shop.  It’s near “The Hill” in south city and is always loaded with so much to see and feel and pet.  Of course, as Joy so aptly put it, some yarn followed me home.  Or, to be more precise, more yarn followed me home.

From there we headed back to Schlafy’s Bottlworks in Maplewood for lunch.  They make a mean Chipotle Black Bean burger and their slaw is my favorite.  After that, we moseyed up to Penzey’s for spices, then Vom Fass for flavored (awesome) balsamic vinegars, then Ka-kao for chocolate.  We had a blast.  Of course, the time flew by and before we knew it, it was time to head home.  It was so much fun and I do adore spending time with our Joy.

And, I’m not even going to tell you about the sea salt/caramel croissant that Rachel shared with us from the Pint Size Bakery.

I hope to get back this week.  I’m having a few connection problems on ole Bessie, my home router, so it’s kind of a catch as catch can around here right now.  Have a wonderful rest of your Sunday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to …and, boy, did we have fun.

  1. Peanut says:

    Of all the days for me to read your blog…

    On the other hand, I love the colors and you know I love Rachel’s yarn. Keep it in a drawer, indeed :p

  2. Joy says:

    We sure did have a great time, and I hope we can do it again! (But without the darned cam-nesia …)

  3. zeneedle says:

    I understand, and have suffered myself from camnesia, but grrls!!! We need you to take us along. No excuses next time. I didn’t realize Diabolical was in your neighborhood. Next time you go I may need to tack on an order. So, nice to hear you had a great time with Joy! Grrlfriends we meet through blogging are so special!

  4. Pingback: Some knitting and stash enhancement … « Joyknits!

  5. marianne says:

    What a wonderful time! Lovin’ all the goodies that followed you home, that silk is divine! it all is.
    yummmm. checked out that chocolate website.

Leave a Reply

