Up and back in under 30 hours

I’m really tired today. Mom’s last remaining brother died at the age of 96, so my brother and I went to the funeral. As the Dirt Band so aptly said “Gravestones cheer the living, dear, they’re no use to the dead.” And, that is exactly why we went, to be with our cousins and Mom’s last remaining sibling, her baby sister, George.   We had amazing childhoods.  When I was a girl, I thought everyone had the same loving parents and great life that I did.  Reality was a real blow, but we were truly blessed.   When we were little , Mom would take us, by train, to our Grandma’s every August before school.  We spent three weeks with our aunts, uncles and cousins.  There were a slew of us around the same ages (true baby boomers)and we grew up together (and got into a lot of trouble).   While we were in a cooler climate, our Dad remained behind to work.  He would write Mom a postcard every day and each one was a love letter.  As I said, a truly wonderful childhood.

So, when my uncle died last week, I decided that I was going.  I asked my brother and he thought it a good idea and we went.   It  went well, but I was not greeted by a happy Stinky upon my return.  In fact, she yelled at me and walked away for an hour or so before she got cold and needed my lap.  Grover, the Wonderdog, was at The Lodges at Kennelwood for a mini-vacation.   I had originally booked him in another section, but they called and told me he was such a big boy that he would be much more comfortable in The Lodges.  Seriously.  I really like those guys.  When I went to pick him up I was behind an older man who had a grump on and got mad when the manager told him that they had accidentally broken his dog’s medicine holder.  I was stunned and almost offered him $2 to shut up and buy a new one.  What a poop head.  So, after reading this missive, I think it’s time to wander away.  I have a memorial reception this afternoon for my neighbor that died 2 weeks ago.  It’s been one of those months.   I will try to get back this week, but it’s good to be back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Up and back in under 30 hours

  1. heideho says:

    So sorry to hear about your uncle’s passing. I love the story of your dad sending a postcard to your mom every day that they were apart. The pets will survive. Hugs to you, my friend.

    • knitwonpurltoo says:

      Thanks, kiddle. BTW, I tried to comment on your post, but my WordPress account got pissy, so here goes. “I don’t think Thor is any bigger than a Grover paw. The socks are beautiful. And, your girls are growing up too darned fast.” Hugs back at you, dear one.

      Cindy

  2. Joy says:

    So sorry about your uncle, but glad you had a good trip and visit with family! Love the story about your folks. We had similar summer trips to SW Missouri, though not as much family. Many hugs!

  3. zeneedle says:

    Such beautiful family memories. Thank you for sharing them. You’ve had a busy weekend, perhaps a little sorrowful. Peace to you, my friend. You knew Stinky wouldn’t be able to stay mad for long. She needs you more than you need her. 🙂 XOXO

  4. marianne says:

    Oh dear. You have had a time of it.
    Your childhood sounds so wonderful, getting to spend 3 weeks with your extended family, all those cousins.. and the postcard love notes from your dad to your mum, that is so very touching.
    Sorry for your losses.
    Ms.Stinky… such the princess kitteh :^)
    So.. Grover had a good time at The Lodges? It’s great they take such good care of him and consider his needs. seriously.
    Hang in there, sugarbritches.
    xoxox

  5. Sophanne says:

    I think that I will never cease to be surprised by the way life is always changing. It’s so tricky, that life. Just when you think it’s one way, it goes and changes again. It never occurred to me during childhood visits to Aunt of Sophanne that it wouldn’t always be exactly like it was. I think maybe the surprise and poignancy of that realization happens every time, even when you know well enough to expect it. Be well, friend

  6. Emiko says:

    So sorry to hear about your uncle’s passing. I know when my cat is PO’ed at me simply from the tone of his meows which he only uses when he’s angry with me. But a few minutes later, he’s purring and as you mentioned, in need of a warm lap, so at least they don’t hold grudges 🙂 I love that your dad sent a love letter postcard to your mom every day, that is so sweet. Thanks for sharing that story with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

