Just breath through your nose, slowly and calmly…….

The shock was almost too much, wasn’t it? Twice in just a matter of days.   I know,  yet, here I am posting on a Tuesday after posting on a Sunday.  Who would have thought it possible?

I spent Sunday afternoon knitting on my BSIL’s way cool Christmas pressie and enjoying it immensely.  Yet, I am a bit afraid that my stitches are going into a different astral plane because I don’t seem to be getting any closer to the end.   I have this mental image of entire miles of knitted fabric just sitting doing nothing on another plane of being, but tormenting knitters everywhere on this one.  Or, I may be over-thinking the whole thing.

I didn’t really write about the trip to Des Moines because I was too tired, but now that I’m back and rested I wanted to tell you about our GPS Adventure.  My brother and I are similar, but not the same.  He is more product oriented and I’m more process oriented.  He’s the one who sees the prize and I’m the one who enjoys the way to it.  I can keep going with these comparisons all day long, but to move the story along, I won’t.  I had my little old Blackberry Curve (it’s purple, simply adorable and works whenever the heck it wants) and the nice BC GPS lady was telling us how to get to where we needed to go (Des Moines, IA).  We were going the “scenic” route which is mostly state highways and a span of two-lane state highway before Des Moines.  It seems she got really tired and confused when we stopped for a sumptuous dinner at McD*on*lds off Rte 34.  When we headed back out with me behind the wheel this time and not my brother, our little BC GPS lady got all messed up.  She was quite determined that we take a left on 187th.  Now, I’m not a geographic whiz.  I can’t find my way out of a paper bag without a great deal of help, but there wasn’t a 187th Street off Route 34 and there wasn’t gonna be one any time soon either.  Finally, a tad exasperated, but not mad, we got off the highway and let her go to bed for the night.  She obviously was not at her best.  That’s when the young Turk, I Ph*n*, was brought in as the closer.  He was sharp and smooth and totally on his game.  My brother and I marveled at him.  I did manage to mess him up a couple of times with over-enthusiastic flicking (trying to scroll).  That takes a trained user and my brother has the skills.  Thankfully, I Ph*n* got us in to Des Moines without any more problems.  If my brother had decided not to go and I had gone alone, I would still be wandering around rural Iowa looking for 187th Street.   In fact, big brother painted a wonderful mental picture of “them” finding my body, or skeleton, in the car in a ravine after the car had run out of gas and I had run out of the will to live while our mentally challenged BC GPS lady continued blathering on about recalculating and turning onto 187th.   I like to think my big brother keeps me grounded.  Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just breath through your nose, slowly and calmly…….

  1. margene says:

    You have a great brother and a fine relationship with him.

  2. Joy says:

    Sounds like quite a trip – so glad you made it back OK 😉 We’ve had a couple of *interesting* experiences with our Broad-in-the-Box too.

  3. marianne says:

    heee. What a great outing, and a great story, and yes, a great relationship you and your bro have!

  4. Cookie says:

    If you blog tomorrow, I’m going to lose my shit. :p

  5. heideho says:

    Glad your brother was with you. Technology is over rated.

  6. Emiko says:

    Choosing different routes can certainly take you on interesting paths, to say the least. Glad you had your brother with you to enjoy it with 🙂

Leave a Reply

