Happy Thanksgiving to you!!

Back again. I have been so very busy, what with helping to coordinate a reception for the memorial service of good friend to checking on friends who are ill, in the hospital or caring for an aging parent. The holiday time is always busy with the regular holidayish stuff, but when you add in the loved ones in need it can feel a bit overwhelming. But, be that as it may, I’m here to check in and say hey. Hey.
It is Thanksgiving morning and I have been a busy girl. I made Parker House rolls for the dinner this afternoon. Here they in my Mom’s cake pan as they went into the oven.  I’m a sucker for tradition.

The house smells wonderful.  I will try one when they are done baking because I worry about quality control.  I didn’t have to make these, but there is something about home baked bread that just feels caring to me.

That, dear friends is a Grover cookie.  A turkey drumstick cookie with yogurt icing.  He loves these things and I get a kick out of getting him, and his friends, a treat at holiday time.   And, yes.  He is a tad spoiled.

Do you remember Killer the neighborhood Siamese cat?

Well, I have some new neighbors (last summer), and they are cat people, but a bit more than me.  They started feeding Killer because they knew he had no home.  I knew that, too, but we had an understanding.  I fed the birds and he ate some.  It was a good working relationship.  The new neighbors, in their kindness, have made him reliant on store-bought food.  It seems like they have either stopped feeding him or aren’t feeding him regularly, so guess who stepped up to the plate.  No.  Don’t guess because you already know.  He is putting on a bit of weight and that’s a good thing for winter.  I don’t need another cat.  He doesn’t want to come inside, so we’re going to work this out.  I’ll feed him every morning like I do Stinky and Grover and he’ll have at least one good meal.  I also might crack my storage door in the back yard so that he can find some shelter when he needs it.  Crap.  I’m hooked, aren’t I?

I hope this day finds you all well and as content as you can be considering whatever crosses you may be bearing at this time.  I am so grateful for so many blessings.  Not a complaint here.  OK.  Maybe, a little one.  Stinky is sleeping on Grover’s bed and won’t let him lay down.  I hate being the bad cop, but since it’s just me, I can be the good cop, too.  See?  No real complaints.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving to you!!

  1. Cookie says:

    Yum!

    You’re a kind hearted woman. Stop fighting it, sweetie. xo

  2. Sohanne says:

    Yes, what cookie says. A cat in need is your cat indeed.

  3. Joy says:

    Hey to you too 😉 The rolls looked great going in, and I can just imagine how wonderful they smelled baking. I have several baking pans that look pretty much like yours.

    Smart cat knew where to go didn’t he? Hope it all works out OK! Hope you had a great day!

  4. heideho says:

    I am thankful for you! You are kind, talented, sweet and all around wonderful. I’ve never had a Parkerhouse roll, but they look wonderful and I love that you’re using your mom’s pan to make them. Killer is fortunate to have you to care for him. There is a special place in heaven for people who are kind to animals.

  5. margene says:

    You have the kindest heart of anyone I know and you embrace everyone as family. Why wouldn’t you take care of kitty? He is one of God’s creatures and he needs you.
    If I were in your home when a pan of rolls came out of the oven I would eat one!! Oh yum!
    xoxo

  6. Emiko says:

    The rolls look yummy (and I love that you baked them in your mom’s pan). I didn’t have to bake either, but it’s that time of year when the baking bug strikes me. Killer is a cutie! So nice of you to keep an eye on the cat, thanks for doing so 🙂 Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

  7. marianne says:

    Those rolls looked like they were going to be delicious!
    aww. Killer. and yes, you’re hooked. It’ll work out well since he really doesn’t want to come in the house, will you put a blankie in the shed? Kittehs like their blankies. maybe put it in a box.. they really like blankies in boxes. 😉

  8. crafterscupboard says:

    Congratulations on the new kitty.;) I love to make home made bread and those rolls look wonderful. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

    PS. Tucker says a that is not spoiling, that is how Grover deserves to be treated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

