It’s a perfect day for tea, or a martini.

It’s been raining here for hours now. Please don’t mistake that as a complaint. We have been desperate for the rain, so I’m very glad. I am taking a day off from the outside world. Grover and I had a lovely rainy walk this morning and came home so that I could make us both eggs. He seemed to enjoy it as much as I did.  Then, I tidied up the kitchen a bit and sat and knit and watched a fascinating documentary on Netflix about Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  I got quite a bit knit on a cuff of a mitt and did a load of laundry.

I am going to bake a King Cake this afternoon for work tomorrow.  I will also bake a St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake for a co-worker’s birthday.  Lent starts on Wednesday, so it’s all sweets and fats until then.  I’m not swearing off of anything for Lent, but I know bunches of people who do.  Besides, it’s Mardi Gras.  St. Louis has a neighborhood, the Soulard neighborhood, that hosts all kinds of Mardi Gras parties and parades every year. I’m a bit past that kind of partying due to the length of time required for recovery these days.  It’s a blast and considered the second largest Mardi Gras celebration in the U.S.  The meaning of the French word Soulard?   Abstinence, sober.  Snort.

So, anyway, as I was mentioning the other day, I think I’m caught in the mid-winter bores.  I’m not glum or blue or sad, but I feel a bit bored.  It doesn’t matter how busy I am.  I’m still feeling a bit bored.  As I said, mid-winter bores/blahs/yucks.   This too shall pass.  And, I have proof that I am not alone.

IMG_0076

IMG_0078You can’t buy this kind of enthusiasm anywhere.  So, to leave you on this Sunday afternoon in February, how about a soundtrack?

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in knitting, pets, soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a perfect day for tea, or a martini.

  1. joyknits says:

    Well it finally quit here (wish we had a gauge out, but not this time of year), but Toby certainly wasn’t happy about the storm. Thanks for the link on the Gooey Butter Cake – quite a bit of background info that I didn’t know about this guilty pleasure 😉

  2. margene says:

    Just yesterday afternoon I diagnosed myself with mid-winter boredom. It’s the time of year we’re so over it all and, yet, the prospect of spring is all too distant. Oh whatever shall I do with myself? At least you found the wherewithal to post. sigh yawn swoon

  3. Cookie says:

    I wondered what had happened to you. Maybe you need a nap to help you recover from all that excitement. ;^)

  4. crafterscupboard says:

    I call that my “hibernation” mode. I just wanna stay home, turn on the TV and surround myself with crafts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

