A simple gift

I had an especially obstinate skein of Malbrigo that I was valiantly winding from my skein winder onto my ball winder on Sunday. It was annoying and difficult and I finally had to give up on my ball winder and was winding by hand.  I gave up in a huff on Sunday and worked a bit on it Monday morning, but this morning I decided it had to be done today, so I wound and wound.

Something happened during the process this morning.  I began winding in a pattern and realized that many years ago a squirmy impatient 8 or 9 year old was taught to wind that way by her mother.  The memory flooded back and I was caught up in the way the yarn wound in the same pattern as the ball of string she used to teach me.  Such a small thing, but it brought a lilt to my heart and morning and reminded me that we are a combination of many lessons in our lives.  Some so small that the memories are buried for years.

And, I had a very willing and lovely assistant to model for me so you could see the results of my Mom’s patient lessons.

IMG_0702

This entry was posted in family, knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A simple gift

  1. Sophanne says:

    We are a combination of many lessons in our lives. When you are a thoughtful person, these ideas come to you. When you choose to blog on, even the mundane, every so often you give an inspired gift in a post such s this and I, for one, am glad about that.

  2. Cookie says:

    Those little things seem to hit at the strangest times.

  3. Joy says:

    What a neat memory 🙂

  4. zeneedle says:

    How wonderful to have your mother sitting with you as you wound the yarn.
    (Malibrigo has notorious reputation for messed up skeins.)

  5. heideho says:

    I love that such a sweet memory popped up unexpectedly. I love that EM helped pose with the loverly ball. Cheers my dear!

Leave a Reply

