I was cruising and decided to stop by and say hello

Hello. How are you doing? It’s the end of the rough long work week, but all is good. We even had this yesterday and this morning.

IMG_0704

What a difference a day makes.  We still have snow on the ground (and on the deck and on and on and on), but the sun is out so who cares?   March whimpered in this year so I’m expecting some good storms to usher it out.  I’d say I’ll remember this at the end of the month, but we all know I won’t.

My Peanut spun some fiber for me (I had had the roving for a long time) as part of my Christmas present.  She spins on spindles and does an exquisite job, but she didn’t have time to wash and thwack it so I did that yesterday afternoon.   Here it is on the deck dripping its little fibers out.

IMG_0705The beautiful sunshine washes out the colors a bit.  That, and the mad photography skills I possess, but it’s a very lovely combo of blues/lavenders/greens.  She got over 430 yards from it, so it will become a shawlette or shawl.  It’s fingering weight.

On a rather Pissyfairy note, my crocuses, croci, crocus’? aren’t out at all this year.  My BSIL has already had some of her bloom, but mine aren’t even up out of the ground.  I’m hoping it’s because of the snow, but I will be heartbroken if none of them return.  They are such cheery little guys.   I do see the parrot tulips are coming up and some of the other bulbs are greening up, but no crocus.

Killer is fairing well in the cold and snow.  I have fed him a bit even though he’s what we call chunky right now.  I figure he can slim down when the weather moderates a bit.   Grover and I were out yesterday morning feeding the birds (I did the feeding while he hunted bunnies) and I looked into the shed and there was Killer sitting on a chair cushion out of the wind and bitter cold.  I just said “hey” and went back to my chores.  He is such a character.  My neighbor feeds him a can of tuna every day.  She even put a heater on her carport for him when it was so horribly cold in early January.  I think that is so dear of her.

I’m still knitting away on my Plume shawl and on stealth knitting I can share with you later.   I feel my wheel calling me, so I will probably get it out this evening.   On that note, I wish you a wonderful week.  I will try to stop by again soon, but for now I will leave you with my soundtrack for the day.

This entry was posted in gardening, knitting, pets, soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I was cruising and decided to stop by and say hello

  1. margene says:

    With snow on the ground we haven’t seen hide nor hair of our bulbs this year. I’m still hoping for snowdrops! Maybe we’ll see crocus later this month. The icicles fell, but the ice dams still live. Today it’s raining…at least it’s not snow! Yesterday’s sun was very welcome, but it was short lived. The rest of the week is what they call “unsettled”. bleh At least it’s not snow! 🙂
    It’s good to see you and the pissyfariy. I miss you both when you’re away too long. You know I loves me some Etta.

  2. Joy says:

    Haven’t seen any croci here either – not sure if the bunnies ate them or if they simply didn’t come up. Love the yarn – that should be plenty for a lovely shawlette – enjoy!

  3. heideho says:

    Your little Peanut is an amazing spinner and you’ve thwacked it divinely. Spring is on its way. Soon you and the pup will be carousing the sunlit streets daily. Cheers to you my dear friend!

  4. crafterscupboard says:

    Lovely yarn! 🙂 She did a great job. Spring is on the way!!! Kiss the pooch on the nose for me. 🙂

  5. marianne says:

    Awww, how sweet of your little Peanut. The yarn is gorgeous.
    Hoping your flowers are just postponing their debut, due to the snows.
    We didn’t get any. 😦
    Cheers, darlin’!

  6. Emiko says:

    Hoping your crocuses (croci?) show their cute little faces this year – as long as we’ve been bloggie friends, I know spring is a-comin’ when I see your photos of them popping up and I could certainly use some cheer in that warmer weather is headed our way! Hope all is well with you lately. I feel like I’ve fallen off the earth and just found myself back somehow..and from where, beats the heck by me!

Leave a Reply

