The ground sucks………..

Really. It does. When I step on the lawn it makes a sucking sound. The 12 year old in me thinks it’s hilarious, but the grown up me realizes that not only is the drought broken here in Middle Earth, but that it’s really really wet, too. I realize that’s pretty heady stuff for most, but I’m a very deep thinker.

Hope this finds you all well.  We’re doing pretty well here, too. Still on fur explosion watch, but daily brushing doesn’t even come close to alleviating the amount of fur dropped on my dark rugs on a daily basis.  Of course, Grover is not my first dog, so I have been through this twice a year for 17 years now.  It still amazes me the amount of fur these guyz produce.  Even Stinky is shedding, but she has a completely different approach.  She drops it on the rug in chunks.  I brush her.  I swear I do, but she still leaves little piles of white and/or black fur for me.

I have a spinning goal.  I need to finish the Cabin Cove roving I started over a year ago before the next Tour de Fleece or Cookie will call me out.  She threatened to, recently, and I totally believe her.  That, plus my niece, Peanut, is now spinning on supported spindles and spinning amazing stuff, so there is a small amount of shame involved as well.  I’ve been spinning way longer than Peanut and my stuff still looks like a beginner spun it.  I might need to up my game a bit.  Of course, this is not a competition, but I do feel like I’ve been a spinning slacker for too long.

The Plume is still in progress.  We all know that a shawl that starts with 7 stitches is gonna get to way more than that.  I keep plugging along with her.

IMG_0700This is a picture I took on February 17.  It’s about 4 times that size.  In other words, the same, but bigger.  I have two more rows before I change to the black contrast which will be interesting because I can’t knit black inside.  Unless it stops raining soon, I’ll be putting her sorry little strands aside until I can sit on the deck and knit.  And, the rain?  After the 4″ in my rain gauge yesterday, I’m not holding out much hope for the sun until July.  That may be a bit of an overstatement……..just, a bit.

Have a good one!!!!

This entry was posted in knitting, pets, spinning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The ground sucks………..

  1. Joy says:

    Glad for the rain here too, though it would be nice if it would pause long enough so I could get the garden in. Still having fur explosion here too – hang in there 😉

  2. heideho says:

    Glad you have rain and not snow. You folks need some sunshine and warmth! The shawl is beautiful. What yarn are you using? I can’t comment on the spinning front because now that I have my fancy new wheel I seldom sit down and actually spin. Cheers!

  3. zeneedle says:

    I’m a slacker in all departments. My house is cleaner, the fridge fully stocked for the weeks dinners, and most of the laundry is caught up, but when it comes to my knitting, finishing (sweater in pieces), or blogging, well, I’m woefully behind. Spinning days are over, methinks.

  4. Cookie says:

    You’ve only been working on that fiber for a year?! Why did I think it was longer? *L*

    Tell our Margene I’ll spin for her any time. Not that I spin anymore but whatever. It’s Margene.

Leave a Reply

