Happy Independence Day all!

Hope all are cool, safe, and happy.   It is mid-summer in Middle Earth and we have been spared the hideous heat and dry that has plagued the West.  My thoughts are with you all.

Grover and I were returning from our walk and we saw this:IMG_0730

Which actually is this, a rough-legged hawk.  It sat in the tree until the little birds annoyed it so much that it just flew away.  Actually, it soared.  What a huge raptor and so exquisite in flight.  I tried everything I could to get it up closer in the shot, but this was the best I could do.  The phone camera was so bad you couldn’t tell there was anything on top of the tree.  Of course, it was at least 2 yards down, but sheesh.

So, that’s the big excitement in my little world for this morning.  That, plus just enjoying a nice long walk with my big puppy and a leisurely morning at home.  Of course, then I had to go to the grocery store because, as we all know, I am nothing if not unprepared.   After that I went to one of my favorite haunts, Big L*ts.  I am a happy girl when I find little treasures for less money than other places.  I got my deck umbrella for much less than discount stores and it’s 9′. Today, it was a George F*reman Grill and a fish for my front door.front door 2013I love it.  It reminds me of Lake Beulah when I was a kid.  I can still go there in my memories when I see my fish.  I tell you, it is always the simple things for me.

And, now, a soundtrack to send you on your way this 4th of July.   A truly American rendition of “Stars and Stripes”.

This entry was posted in pets, soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Independence Day all!

  1. Joy says:

    Actually that’s a pretty good photo when one embiggens it – good job 😉 and I love your fish! Having a quiet day today, and hoping that the neighbors aren’t too loud with the fireworks this evening. Happy Fourth!

  2. margene says:

    I LOVE your fish. I have fish “chimes” on my patio and would like to find a few more. Your fish would fit right in. Hawks are amazing birds and it’s always a wonderful thing to see one in flight. Our little peregrine fledged, but then hit a highrise and is now in recovery. At least he’s still alive. We could see a 360 fireworks show from our windows. It was quite exciting. Let’s talk later, let’s talk SOON. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

