A plethora of leaves

I filled 3 large trash cans with fallen leaves Saturday morning, added water to the pond, and realized I have just a bit more to do on the leaf front.  I not only wasn’t really done, I wasn’t really done.  We’ve had high winds all morning and afternoon 20-60mph, so that which was actually done, isn’t.

IMG_0754So sad, but so grateful I am able to rake.  It appears it will be an endless job this fall.

51907pix-007IMG_0757

The first picture is my puppers when he first came to live with us.  He was about 2 at the time.  Notice the size of the white spot on his nose.

This picture is from yesterday.  The white spot has grown quite a bit, but he is at his lowest fighting weight since his first winter (he was 133 lbs).  He weighs in at 118.3.  We know this because we went to the vet yesterday.  He has been scratching and pulling at his fur like last summer, but there was no hot spot.  I know my limits and I hate seeing my furbabiez suffer, so we went.  He has fleas.  Anybody play the uke out there?  You know how to tune a ukelele?  I played the ukelele when I was a teenager.  Oh, and I sucked at it.

So, we got some flea killer medication (no steriods, I’m against them) and some lotion for soothing and puppy anitihistamine.  We’ve been out with the nit comb several times today, but I have yet to see a flea.  The vet showed me a real Mr. Wizard trick, though.  You take the flea dirt (get a damp piece of toweling and put it on the surface where you put the combed fur) and, in a few moments, if you rub the flecks a bit, they turn rust.  That’s flea dirt.  If it doesn’t turn a rust color, it’s just dirt.

Well, gotta go.  Have a good one!!

This entry was posted in pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A plethora of leaves

  1. crafterscupboard says:

    Isn’t he just the handsomest devil?!! 🙂 Sorry he’s got the itchies. The meds and the anti itch stuff should help him out quite a bit. When it starts freezing that should help too. Fleas just can’t take the cold. 🙂 (((HUGS)))) to you all!

  2. margene says:

    Thank goodness we do not have fleas in Utah! Grover is so handsome. Moxie went from almost black to almost white in his 15 years. He is a sweet old man.

  3. Cookie says:

    And it’s not really rust. It’s blood. I should have sent you that cooling stuff for his itches! Why do I suck so much? I hope all the leaves go live with the neighbors so you can be off the hook for the season.

Leave a Reply

