I’ve been away for some time now.

It’s been an interesting, eventful and sometimes sad late summer into fall. As some of you know, I live in St. Louis, MO. I am about 7-10 miles away from the community of Ferguson which became infamous in the media. I haven’t really known how to respond on the blog because like so many others, I’m not sure anyone will ever know the “truth” and feel the media has treated St. Louis, like so many other places and people, like the latest shiny new toy. Play with us, report inaccuracies and downright lies mingled with the truth, then move on to the next new shiny toy. In this case, it’s Ebola.  I will not attempt to explain the events in Ferguson that day because I don’t know.   That being said, I also spent every Sunday afternoon for 10 weeks or so visiting my BSIL’s mother in hospice.  It was bittersweet for me.  My BSIL’s mother was difficult at times when she was strong and healthy, but when her health began to decline she softened and was so dear.  I took her flowers and up until the final two weeks, she brightened when she saw them.  I have no regrets and was grateful when she was able to finally move on into her next great journey in mid-September.

Now, for the important stuff.  My refrigerator died.  Not life altering by any means, but still a pain in the rear.  After it died, I measured the space.  Twice.  I went and looked at refrigerators in the store.  I measured the one I wanted.  Twice.  It was delivered to my house two days later.  It didn’t fit.  Now, I might have been upset years ago when I wasn’t knitting, but now?  I know knitter’s can’t count so I just chalked it up to life as a knitter.  Now, a cabinet must be removed today.  And, it shall be.  Grover and I have to walk into the kitchen single file.

I have been knitting.  I was spinning a bit when my Peanut came over and asked if she could spin on my Joy and I said, sure!   There’s about 8″ left on the unspun fiber and she hasn’t finished it yet.  Little Stinker!

I hope to blog a bit more often.  I miss everyone’s updates, except Margene who faithfully updates, and Joan,  and Cookie, too.  I’m afraid I am the cause of the loss of a blog friendship due to communication error.  I am still sorry about that one, but cannot correct it because the line was severed.   Have a good one, all!

This entry was posted in family, knitting, spinning, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’ve been away for some time now.

  1. joyknits says:

    A *very* long time, and you’ve been dearly missed – I know, I should talk 😉 SO good to “see” you! Good luck with the new fridge! Hugs to you and skritches to the fur kidz

  2. Marilyn says:

    Sounds like a stressful time….so good you have the knitting and the furry ones. Hopefully the rest of the fall and winter are easier.
    Truly hope you can make the fridge fit too!! 🙂

  3. zeneedle says:

    You have been missed! We feel your pain about the refrigerator as we suffered the same fate. Fortunately, Smith was handy enough to do the work on the cabinet and get the fridge into place. He also did our neighbors when she suffered the same fate. It must be epidemic! xoxo

  4. sewinator says:

    I grew up in Overland and my best friend bought her house in Florissant. I have been keeping up with the happenings via my high school friends on Facebook. I now live in San Jose CA and the national media reports are very different from the local ones. It really is portrayed very differently on the national media. I pray for the residents of that city frequently.
    It’s nice to see you back !

  5. Rachel says:

    It has been a long time, but all of us bloggers have been very bad about updating. I was looking through my old stlrachelknits blog archives and thinking about how very much I miss reading about all of my friends, and writing endlessly about knitting in a non-business kind of way. I am glad you have updated and let us know what you’ve been up to, but even happier that I saw both of you at Strange Folk. Sometime in the next few months I think I will throw a party in a space big enough for all of the knitters to hang out and party like only us knitters know how to do.

  6. heideho says:

    Well, hello there stranger! I’ve been away from blogging for so long that I am just now getting out to check what others have been up to. I’m sorry to hear about the passing of your SIL’s mother. I’m sure that both she, and her mother were very grateful for the company you provided. You are much calmer than I would be in regards to the refrigerator not fitting. Those are the types of issues that tend to spark profanity here. Please give your animals lots of love, focus on your family and try not to fret about the awful happenings in Ferguson. Even if you had a crystal ball and were the holder of truth, so many people have opinions on the matter that there isn’t much you could do, even under the best of circumstances, to fix the unrest.

Leave a Reply

