It’s Wednesday. And, what about Kafka?

OK. I was reading Crazy Aunt Purl’s blog and she was chatting about “The Metamorphosis” by Franz Kafka. Hysterically funny, yet gripping story. I remembered, then, another Kafka short story I read. I thought it was called “The Wall”. I think I was wrong. I cannot find it by Googling.   Could it possibly even exist if I can’t find it by Googling?   I’m perplexed.   I remember being very impressed and disturbed by the story, so why can’t I find it?  This was my junior year in high school.   We read the prerequisite “Silas Marner” and from there it was all out.   Mr. Cobb was my English teacher.  Strange man.  Wonderful teacher.   I do know that he influenced me greatly and made me bolder about reading.   He also introduced us to Arthur Miller and Henrik Ibsen.   Have you ever read Flannery O’Connor?   I read her at the impressionable age of 18 (back in the day when that was an impressionable age).   I also read my first William Faulkner fiction the same summer.  It was “The Barn Burning”.  After that I read “As I Lay Dying”, “Absalom Absalom”  and “The Sound and the Fury”.  I have no favorites by Mr. Faulkner.  I love them all.   But, this Kafka story is bothering me.   The book was a textbook back in the day, so I don’t even know where to begin looking, but look I will.   The basic story premise was that two prisoners had escaped from the walls of a prison only to be scaling a wall to freedom.  The outside wall faced open water.  Other than the sheer terror of the story and the palpable fear emanating from the two prisoners I’m a bit blank on the details.  If the idea rings a bell, please let me know.   If not, I’ll continue looking.  I’d like to read it again as an adult.

I have a sad knitting story to tell.  I finished the first clue in my April Warshrag KAL and the designer had something happen in her life and is unable to get another clue out right now.  I understand.  That happens, but don’t designers work through a design a bit before starting a KAL?   Am I naive?   It’s not like I’m mad.  That would be stupid, but I think I might just knit a free dishcloth design that is already available and forget the KAL.  Maybe it’s me?   Maybe, I have KAL cooties?   Stranger things have happened.  I’m not even sure why I have this need to knit a warshrag other than I’m desperate for public knitting and can always use a warshrag.  I love them and I think they make great gifts with a nice handmade soap wrapped in them.

Yesterday afternoon we had the sun.   It was deceptive because I thought it would be warm, but aha!!!  It weren’t.  It were kinda chilly.   This is spring.  And, this is a spring sky.

Tripping merrily down Memory Lane, let’s listen to Bill Quateman and “Get it Right on Out There”.

Happy Wednesday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Wednesday. And, what about Kafka?

  1. margene says:

    Maybe you were thinking of Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”.
    People are weird. Go ahead and make up your own pattern for the “spa cloth”…then move on.
    We have a sky full of dust from a horrifically windy day and night. I sure wish it would snow!!

  2. Joy says:

    We didn’t get much sun yesterday, but it’s sure pretty today. Good luck with the knitting 😉

  3. Cookie says:

    What a beautiful sky!

    You are not naive. A good designer does plan ahead and is not designing as they release parts of patterns. Sadly, in this day and age, anyone can call themselves a designer.

    xo

  4. marianne says:

    You had me giggling from word one. in a good way. I can’t seem to remember ‘exactly’ what I read a couple of weeks ago let alone some of the books from 30/40 years ago, outside of remembering I liked them no matter how impressionable I was at the time. It’s alright though, right? just means I can reread them at any time and enjoy again.
    and about those temps yesterday? it weren’t here either. Looked like it shoulda been but nope, weren’t. :^D
    hee. KAL Cooties. cracked me up. but yeah, with Cookie on this one.
    there are loads of patterns out there for nice warshrags ;^)
    XOXOX

  5. sophanne says:

    Oh how I love Flannery O’Connor. I can immerse myself into her short stories like nobody’s business.

    Faulkner is Faulkner by Flannery- ooh boy.

    Don’t know the Kafka story most likely because as I was trying to think of what it might be only Dostoyevsky titles kept popping into my head. Have you ever read The Gambler?

Leave a comment