I am a knitting mess. Who do I apologize to???

In every 12-step program, you are required to make amends  to those you have hurt. Should I apologize to the yarn? Or, the pattern? Or, should I just shut up and move on?  I will be the first to admit that I have a problem.   I was working away on the Magic Loop socks and screwed up the heel and the turning of the heel and refused to stop.  Finally, I looked again at the heel and realized I would be embarrassed to wear that sock.   I ripped it back and rewound the ball and cast on again!   This time with double point needles.  I’m happier, but I might be wearing out my yarns before completing projects.

So, I’m spinning.  I knit during lunch, but spin after chores (no, I don’t have to milk the cows or bring’em in from the pasture)in the evening.   I  might be the slowest spinner in the universe because I’m still working on my first bobbin.  Of course, I fuss over it and worry it to death rather than just enjoying the process (I’m sensing a theme here).   Hopefully, that will subside once I get back into the routine of spinning.

The weather here in Middle Earth has been spectacular.  Yesterday was one of the prettiest days I can remember.  After dinner, I went outside and beat back the bullrushes (I’m losing this battle) and filled trash cans with yard waste.  Then, I came in and took a shower and then wanted to spin a bit, but I couldn’t because I had nearly sliced off the tip of my left thumb while pruning.  I put a gauze pad on with duct tape to stop the bleeding.   My BSIL had had my pruners sharpened and I got carried away.    It was a lovely evening,

Since my typing ability is impaired I will leave with my soundtrack for the day……the Beatles and “Come Together”

Have  GOOD ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I am a knitting mess. Who do I apologize to???

  1. Emiko says:

    Careful with them pruning shears – don’t want to be missing any digits!

    I haven’t knit a stitch in a few weeks, but I keep buying yarn here and there. I really need to finish a project before I keep buying yarn, really.

    Glad we’re halfway there this week. I look forward to the 3 day weekend!

  2. Diane says:

    Knitting means never having to say you’re sorry 🙂

    Huzzah for spinning!

    I too am taking advantage of this glorious weather to get out and prune shrubs, etc. I didn’t damage any digits but my hands were too sore for much knitting last night and this morning my upper arms and shoulders are protesting all the lopper action yesterday.

  3. sophanne says:

    Here’s what happens when I try to learn to knit socks on anything BUT dpns. I read the first line of directions (something like cast on half the number of stitches you need) – oh yea, I can do that. The remainder of the directions read like this.

    rodi tleh sneocern idlsn dis .ehsocienfise houen dkvone. eivopsndie spwb wkvhrivnweak eodb smcoerh ro selfba.

    (do you know how hard it is to type not-words that are the same length of words you are thinking? It’s kind of like socks not on dpns.)

  4. margene says:

    I hope your thumb heals quickly and I hope you’ve had your tetanus shot! It’s fun to hear the Beatles again!

  5. joyknits says:

    Hey, if 1 rip-out wears out the yarn, it’s not going to make very good socks! Beside you’re supposed to be doing this for fun! Hang in there, and be careful with those clippers – being short-handed isn’t the most convenient thing in the world.

  6. LOL! I don’t know who deserves the amends. I’m leaning towards keeping mum and moving on personally.

  7. marianne says:

    egads! two words. 2 circs. just remember to use one circ’s needles at a time. It’s been well over a year since I’ve knit socks on dpns. I doubt I look back. oddly enough I didn’t care for the magic loop at all, too fiddly. see? odd.
    sophanne’s comment had me laughing out loud.
    Take care using those sharp pruners now.. ya hear?
    it just won’t do you any good with missing digits.
    XOXOXOX

  8. heideho says:

    I’m a traditionalist when it comes to sock knitting too.

    I hope that you’ve stopped bleeding… did you need to visit a doctor for stitches? Watch for infections!

    Stop worrying so much! Maybe we can take turns. I’ll worry this week, you worry next week!

    Mid-week hugs to you!

  9. Cookie says:

    Be careful! You need all your fingers!

    People knit? Really? o.O

    You’ll get back into the spin soon enough. Besides, it’s not a race. It’s a Tour. ;^)

    xo

  10. crafterscupboard says:

    Owie!!! I hope the finger is healing up nicely! No need to apologize to anyone/thing when we are knitting or spinning. 🙂 I’ve been slowly spinning up some fibers recently purchased but after yard work, my hands just don’t want to work any more. lol Take care!

Leave a comment