Do you know how to spell FRIDAY in Canadian??????????????

You spell it, f.r.i.d.a.y. Don’t any of you ever ever again comment about this blog being uninformative. Well, nobody has so far, but I want to nip it in the bud before it every happens. I wanna be informative, too. Just like the big blogs. Us little guys have dreams, too.

So, although my little blog has dreams that I can’t fulfill, I have caved. I found the reindeer hat on Ravelry. Helena Bristow of Clever Knits, charted the hat, which is the hat worn by the US Olympians marching into the 2010 winter games. I was killing time before a lunch date yesterday, when I wandered (always a dangerous thing) into Knitty Couture, a local yarn shop that is fun to peruse. There, imagine, they sold yarn. Cascade 220, no less. The exact yarn required for the Reindeer hat. Whodathunkit?????????????? That, and they had the correct colors…….red, blue and white. The pattern calls for cream, but I like bright white so that is what I bought. I’m gonna knit me a colorwork hat. I. am. bound. and. determined. to. conquer. colorwork!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has beaten my butt too many times. When, you ask, am I going to cast on? Not this weekend, folk. I put on my Big Girl Pants this morning and I’m going to finish some things before I cast on again.

Now, I know it is FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m happy. You’re happy. Grover is happy. Stinky McFartbutt doesn’t give a damn. So, HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also, I would appreciate any good thoughts you can send my way. I am determined to conquer my public speaking terror. To earn that badge of courage, I am the lay liturgist at church this Sunday. I am scared shitless, folk. Oops. That’s not churchlady talk. I’m sorry. I’m scared beyond words. Seriously. But, this is a fear I am determined to conquer.

I want every single one of you to have a wonderful weekend. Give positive thoughts for those who are ill or have ill family members. Remember Haiti. Have fun. I mean it, every single one of you. Celebrate life.

Here, to send you dancing into your weekend, is the Grateful Dead and “Casey Jones”.

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you know how to spell FRIDAY in Canadian??????????????

  1. margene says:

    You’ll be a star! Be yourself and make it fun. They’ll be eating out of your hand. Even after a short week I am so happy to see Friday!!

  2. marianne says:

    Public speaking can be nerve wracking. Take deep breaths, find your calm spot, and if you need to… picture everyone naked, no, just kidding. Imagine yourself just talking to a friend. Wear a strong sturdy pair of boots :^)
    and you know… it doesn’t count for courage/being brave unless you’re scared shitless. You’ll do this and be fine.
    YAY! YOU! Colourwork is FUN!
    Happy weekend, sweets.

  3. Joy says:

    My fave LL (Lay Liturgist) trick is to stick the info on the copier and biggify it before I start. Definitely don’t forget to breathe – you’ll do fine. Hugs!

  4. Emiko says:

    You’ll do just fine! I’m not much of a public speaker too with the nerves and all, but when I have to do it, I do it and it all works out in the end 🙂

    I’ve got The Crud, so I’ve wasted a whole week not knitting which really really sucks 😦 I hope to feel a little better to start something this weekend so that I can say I finished something during the Ravelympics.

    I’ve got that hat in my queue too. Maybe that should be my next project – I haven’t done any colorwork since learning how to during last year’s Madrona – maybe I forgot already lol.

    Have a great weekend, and I mean it too 😉

  5. Cookie says:

    A yarn store that sells yarn, you say? No! ;^)

    You will be just fine. You will be talking to people you see every Sunday. It’s not like it’s a big group of scary strangers or something, yes?

    xo

  6. Diane says:

    Practice, especially before a mirror, a couple times. It’ll help you remember to look friendly and smile (if appropriate). Don’t be afraid to slow down too when you talk. A pause or two makes people pay attention.

    And biggifying the text is a must. Double or triple space your lines too so you can find your place easily.

    Most of the congregation wouldn’t change places with you for the world, so you get props just for getting up there and doing it!

    We’re rooting for you!

  7. sophanne says:

    Aw hells, I’ll talk in front of anybody- who cares, really? But- Mr. Sophanne has the same fear and overcomes it by pretending he’s going to a root canal. Then when it’s not as bad as that he relaxes a little. Of course, if you prefer root canals, you might think of something worse than that.

    You have wisdom to share oh Lay Liturgist- they are fortunate to get to hear you. And you’re funny (are you allowed to be a funny lay liturgist? This once Jewish Buddhist doesn’t really know so much about such things.) and you have so much kindness karmic good stuff to send their way- even if you go up and feel like an idiot- they will all be the better for it.

    Colorwork hat- STRETCH out those stitches on the right hand needle- pick up the not used yarn after 5 or so stitches and you’re home free. You can do it!

Leave a comment