My main news source is Comedy Central

RANT ALERT.  I think I’ve ranted about this subject before, but I am feeling seriously self-righteous about it today.  Am I the only one that is sick unto death of hearing the talking heads blither on and on, quoting other talking heads and telling us nothing? Whatever happened to television journalists? The five W’s? Is there no such thing as investigative reporting anymore? Or, has all of that been pushed aside because the Fifth Estate caves to corporate bullies like Rupert Murdoch?  I now get my national news from BBCAmerica and Comedy Central.   It seems everyone does it better than the networks and newspapers.   Incompetence rules in almost every aspect of our lives.  I promise not to discuss politics, but I’m more than a bit discouraged.  END RANT.

Wow.

I hope you had a wonderful weekend.  Mine was just loverly, except for the fact that I’m having a terrible time acclimating to the extreme heat and humidity.  I worked outside Saturday morning for about 2.5 hours and came in sick from the heat and allergies.  Today (since I am off work) I need to cut the lawn, so I will don a mask and go out and get it done shortly.   The high is again to be in the upper 90’s.   It is 79F at 6:00 a.m.  I plan on staying in the rest of the day.

Milkweed is still in time out.   I’m working on a pair of socks that are a delight to knit.  I can’t show them because they are a gift.   Hopefully, this week I can take some time and work on Milkweed.   I’m trying to get back into sorting and cleaning , so my knitting/spinning time is much less than it usually is.  I have a little over a week to finish the Desert Sunrise/set roving I’ve been working on.

Here is my soundtrack for the day.  I don’t think I’ve used this one before, but I love it so that I don’t care.  It’s the Jefferson Airplane and “3/4 of a Mile in Ten Seconds”.  And, it’s live!!!

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My main news source is Comedy Central

  1. margene says:

    You are so right. There are no journalists of any sort anymore. Nice soundtrack to wake up to!

  2. Diane says:

    Wolf Blitzer or Walter Cronkite? You choose.

    Yeah, me too.

    I need to get out to pull weeds and spread mulch today and I don’t wanna. Hot already.

  3. heideho says:

    I just read the news on the internet and try to gleen some truth from what I read there.

    It’s cold and rainy here today, so we can’t do any yard work like cutting grass. I may still pull some weeds though. They love the rain.

    Threaten Milkweed with a trip to the frog pond and see if she behaves.

    Happy Monday.

  4. marianne says:

    I would worry a bit about my sense of sanity if I didn’t have Jon. Yes. That Jon. and I’ve switched to the BBCAmerica to go along with PBS NewsHour. and yes, you ARE singing to this choir. but you knew that already. oh, it’s a duet :^)
    gah with our temps. GAH I say.
    A good dose of Airplane every day is a good thing.
    Take care whilst out there. xoxox

  5. Emiko says:

    The boyfriend and I were discussing pulling out of cable altogether this weekend, after getting pulled into junky marathon reality shows. And I agree about what’s being called ‘news’ these days – just get to the point if you have one instead of going in circles and pulling us along w/ it!

    We could sure use some summer weather over here. Today is the first day of summer and we’re not even hitting 60… really really sad, I tell ya.

    But although the weekend weather was blech, I had a nice weekend, so I guess that’s all that matters 🙂

  6. sophanne says:

    I’ve gone to the grocery store, bank and vet and mowed the lawn all before 11:00 am to avoid the days heat and humid.

    When you pull out milkweed, I’ll wrangle with the last rows of swallowtail. on your mark, get set, go when you feel like it. (not yet for me)

  7. Cookie says:

    My local ABC station wants to connect with the community and I just want news. It may be time to move.

    I hope the mowing was quick and painless!

    xo

  8. Joy says:

    And then there’s the station that blathers about “more local” as if the rest of the world weren’t out there – definitely gack!

    Hang in there – since we seem to be getting July & August in June, maybe we can hope for May & June then – you think?

Leave a comment