Oooh, goody. Random Wednesday.

I love this. I am so random by nature that this feels perfectly natural or “right” to me. So, first off. I have been, cough cough, crocheting. I started out crocheting when I was in high school and moved on to needlepoint when I was in college. I rather enjoy crocheting, but find that so many patterns look like they were a second thought instead of an original design. Due to the Fairy Godknitter, Joan, I saw this wrap that mesmerized me.  It is fun.  She is always an inspiration.  I had seen the pattern and convinced myself that I would not like it or crochet it and to just get over it.  That was six months ago.  The last time Joan made a wrap (for a class she was teaching, those lucky lucky students), that was it for me.  I ordered the back issue (Winter ’07) and told my Mother that the yarn would be a fantastic gift for me for Christmas.  It was.  I started it right away, but put it away because I have so many other projects going.  Last night I picked it up again.  Damn, it’s fun.  I have so many things on needles, but this is what has captured my imagination.  Check back with me in a few days to see if it holds.

We are in a mid-winter warmish time.  I’m sure there is a technical term, but I don’t care.  It is tolerable and next week it looks like we’ll be getting more crappy weather.  I hate using my vacation time, but if you’ve ever crossed a large bridge in icy weather you’ll understand my desire to avoid driving on ice.  I remember going across the Hwy. 70 Missouri River bridge and sliding the entire way with absolutely no control.  I was young, but it scared the bejezzus out of me.  I look back and wish I could have enjoyed the ride, but I didn’t.   So, when it looks like ice, I beg off.

And, since I have revealed my inner weiny, I will leave you with my soundtrack of the day.  Charlie Daniels and a personal fave “Orange Blossom Special”.  Enjoy!

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oooh, goody. Random Wednesday.

  1. heideho says:

    Happy Wednesday! Glad it’s warmed up there some. Will you show us pictures of the crocheting?

  2. margene says:

    I love the fiddle in that song! Joan’s wrap almost got me to do crochet again. I hooked my way through the early 70s and made SO many things, including tops and sweaters that I wore! The sweater I crocheted for my dad could stand up on its own and was too warm to wear unless it was -10…but he loved it.

  3. Emiko says:

    That’s a cute looking wrap! I’ve seen a few crochet patterns I liked, but alas, I don’t know how to. It’s great to get sucked into something (kind of like the felt cake things for me). I have a coworker who’s a hooker, so I might barter me teaching her to knit while she teaches me how to crochet.. we’ll see.

    Look forward to seeing your crochet project, so don’t forget to take pictures! 🙂

  4. marianne says:

    ‘inner weiney’ heeeee! You’re so funny. and yes, sounds like that was QUITE the ride across that bridge, HOLY CRAP!!!!!

    Oh Oh Oh, the Infinity Wrap! wow. I was completely smitten when Joan was making hers and thinking the same thing about her ‘students’. lucky! I don’t know enough about crochet, just very basic, enough to get me by if I need it for a knitting project, or washcloth (hangs her head in a bit of shame).
    Happy Wednesday and thanks for the fabulous tune!
    XOX

  5. I *really* need to take some time to learn more crochet as there are times when one of the gorgeous lace edgings or something would be the perfect icing on the cake.

  6. Nora says:

    I love that wrap – I’m just amazed at all the beautiful crochet patterns available. I’m not sure if crochet is going to go before or after spinning in my “list of things to learn when I retire.”

    xo

  7. Cookie says:

    Happy Wednesday!

    That wrap got me to realize that crochet can be modern, stylish and attractive. I can’t wait to see yours.

    I don’t blame you a bit about the ice. Slick nasty stuff.

    xo

  8. sophanne says:

    Ha! Joan’s crochet made me pick up the hook last night too!

  9. Joy says:

    Ya, she’s tempting me too, and I *really* don’t cr*chet very well at all. Enjoy the warmish day or so before we fall back into the pit of yuk – I’m with you on NOT liking the ice!

Leave a comment